Turtle Lecture


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Hobe Sound
February 24th 2015
Published: February 25th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I had the windows open all night and the air was typical of the tropics, warm and moist. As I was catching up on my e mails, I heard a buzzing overhead and there was a wasp/hornet crawling around on the ceiling. He was a big sucker and I was debating to kill or get it out the door. I grabbed the dish towel and caught it but not without being stung on my pinkie. I screamed and he made it out. Now I have a sore pinkie and pussy bites on my ankle. These Fl critters and getting to me.



After coffee, Oscar and I went on a nice walk then we came back to the camper and I got ready to meet Linda for lunch.



Linda and I went to a resturant along the intercoastal waterway in Juno, a town south of my campground. We got a table outside and there was a breeze that kept the temperature delightful. We watched the boats going up and down the intercoastal mostly the small ones, then the bridge opened and a huge ship passed through. Picture.



I had a fish sandwich encrusted with coconut and almonds and fries. The food here in FL has been fabulous, and Linda knows all the perfect spots to enjoy the views.



Then we went to the turtle rescue center and saw the logerhead turtles that had been rescued from Cape Cod. They got stuck in the "hook", their instincts telling them to go south but the land was in the way. Some had frost bite so they will be here for another month or so then released around Hobe Sound which is the town just to the north of me. Then we attended a lecture on the diet of logerheads and the lecturer threw in a few words of wisdom for lengthening the life of seniors, all of the audiance. Have a purpose in life. He suggested volunteering, a reason to get up in the morning and someone to care for. Good advise.



I made it home in time for Oscar's dinner and then a rest and walk. We went to the river for sunset but it wasn't spactacular, but nice.



Tomorrow, the beach!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 100; dbt: 0.1604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb