Moving day again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Hobe Sound
February 20th 2015
Published: February 21st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This is the campground in Kissemmee PraireThis is the campground in Kissemmee PraireThis is the campground in Kissemmee Praire

It was the only place with a bunch of trees. Nice if the weather was warm.
Happy Birthday Lisa.



I woke before sunrise and saw a red flickering light next to my camper. That got my attention, yes, it was a fire in the campsite next to me. Controlled and confined but a pretty good fire. The fellow next to me had come in late last night and I saw him cooking on a stove on his picnic table. He had a pickup truck with an open bed and no camper or tent. Poor guy, must have been frozen. The park ranger came by last night and said there was a fire danger because of low humidity and to disconnect my hose from the spiket and let the water drip a little, it was supposed to be below 30 degrees.



I got to feeling sorry for the fellow next to me and I thought I'd wait til it got light out and ask him if he wanted to come in and get warm and I'd give him breakfast. As I was heading out the door I noticed that he had left the campground. Enough of this rough camping in freezing temps.



So I got an early start in packing up. I was almost ready to go and it was just 10am, couldn't leave then, I couldn't get into my next campground. It is just a 2 1/2 hr drive to Jonathan Dickerson SP near Jupiter and nothing worth stopping to see along the way.



It was a back roads journey making several turns, and the longest stretch was 14 miles on a road I didn't want to travel 1 mile on. It was narrow to begin with but didn't have a shoulder, none, and warning signs of the drop off if you left the road. There were lots of trucks along the way and thank God everybody kept to their sides. To add to the closed in feeling the trees along the sides were big oak trees with hanging spanish moss that made a canopy over the road. Very beautiful, but fearsome too.



There were lots of cattle ranches along the way with lush fields and fat and sleek cows. I want the beef from those cows for dinner. It was all rural except for the last 10 min when I went through Hobe Sound, but that is just a little town with a few stores.



Our campsite was ready when we got there so we drove the 4 miles from the main gate to the River Campground and settled in in short order. I took Oscar for a walk to see the river then decided since I didn't have lunch an early junk food dinner was in order. I found a Taco Bell about 4 1/2 miles from the campground so Oscar joined me for the drive and I had a wonderful taco salad.



It was getting cold and late so I headed back home. No pictures today, only saw Turkey Vultures so I'll include a map.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb