Take the Keys to My Heart


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Gainesville
February 6th 2009
Published: February 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I finished my book last night! Actually, it was sometime early this morning, but it’s finished regardless.

Today was supposed to be a short day- just a 4 hour drive to Gainesville, FL, but it sort of got lengthened. We left before 10 and headed even more south. We went through Gainesville to drop Dana off with some friends of hers. We were supposed to meet an hour outside of Gainesville, but ended up going an hour and a half to our rendezvous point, and then had to wait almost an hour for them to arrive, and come back. What we thought was going to be a 4 hour drive and an early afternoon turned into over 7 hours of driving and arriving just as the kids were having dinner. It was a much longer day than anticipated.

But, we did get a phone call from Jenn, our ASM from the fall, and all got to talk to her for quite some time. That was lots of fun! And dinner with the kids is always something exciting.

In case you’re curious, it was over 50 degrees when we were in Georgia, and super sunny, and now we’re in Florida, where it was pushing 70 today. We had the AC on in the car and everything! It’s supposed to be over 70 our whole stay here. Don’t worry, though, in a month or so I’ll also be hip-deep in snow!

Here’s a great story from Savannah: Our first night, we each received 2 keys to our rooms, as normal. Because the second night was paid for by a different card, our keys were reset, so we got new ones on Wednesday night; again, not out of the ordinary for us. At some point, I also got a key to Sarah’s room, bringing my total up to 5. Then, while I was gone, Sarah got a key for my room, resetting the ones I already had, so I had to go get a new one from the man at the front desk. 6. At some point, I got one to Kyle’s room as well. 7. Then, I left my room to go to Sarah’s and forgot to take one with me. Oops. But, I found out that if I flirt enough with the guy at the front desk, he’ll give me free postcards AND another key! Wow, I was swimming in them this morning! Keys, that is, not free postcards.

Sarah came over tonight. There was definitely some pillow fighting going on. Much fun, as usual.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 70; dbt: 0.1392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb