Leaving Ft Myers Beach


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Fort Myers Beach
February 29th 2020
Published: February 29th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Ft Myers Beach tomorrow morning for Ft Myers. (two different places) My cousin is riding with me. May have to stay a week because of winds. The gusts will not calm down and I want a nice easy ride back across Lake Okeechobee. Lost a dinghy engine here. It stopped running and the shifting mechanism broke. It was going to cost $500 so I told them to just keep it. I have been paddling my dinghy to the dock with the tides. That engine has always given me problems. Today I have been cleaning the hull. Lot of growth from sitting. Took a few dives under the boat and looks a little better than it did. I’ll get a diver under it in Ft Myers.

Got a few good sails in on the Gulf of Mexico Just off the beach. Met a lot of nice people and drank a few rum drinks. The average age here must be around 70 And as you could guess 50’s and 60’s music is big and everyone dances. Swing, bop, two step etc and looks like everyone but me knows how. The bars are full all the time. Too many people really. From Jan until March. The locals hate it because of the traffic. The bridge going onto the beach is backed up for miles every day. (see pic from previous post). The weather has been great. Temps n the low 80’s. Pretty breezy the last week.

Hopefully back on the east coast in a few weeks. Don’t know where. Maybe Jupiter for a while. I would like to get in a little spear fishing. Then maybe just sit on a mooring ball in Vero Beach and work my way back to Fernandina Beach And spend a week or two there. Haven’t seen anywhere I like better than Va so probably back in Hampton in late May or early June.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb