ON the River


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Estero
March 14th 2018
Published: March 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

blog 03-14-18 On the River

Happy Birthday Pat!

After taking Watson on a really long walk we came back to camp where we both relaxed in the sun. I was determined to make it to the river today so after a short time I headed to the boat launch where I inflated my kayak and carefully got on the boat without getting all wet, something of an accomplishmet. The life jacket and water bottle were my only passengers, no camera, cell phone or dog.

I headed upstream where the best scenery is supposed to be and found the canopy of vegetation very relaxing. I passed an old plantation style house that is very well kept, then another kayaker appeared, a fellow fishing from his foot paddled boat. From behind I heard a motor noise and there was a pontoon boat fast approaching. This river is hardly wide enough for 2 kayaks side by side let alone a pontoon boat motoring up the river. I moved over as far as I could but the boats horn kept blasting away. The boat captain was being a little obnoxious trying to get the fishing kayak out of his way. Don't know where he thought the guy was going to go. There were a few harsh words exchanged then the motored boat sped up the river leaving waves behind. Hold it steady...

Then I rounded a bend and started hearing a band playing and as I got closer the music got louder and louder. Ok, enough of this, I turned around to find some quiet nature and a group of 8 kayaks were coming up so we had to avoid each other but did that just fine.

When I got back to the launch site there were 2 canoes casting off and one had a radio blaring some hip hop music. Ok, time to call it a day.

This is where expectations and reality conflict. I was hoping for a nice quiet, peaceful ride in nature but found too many people with a different idea about how to enjoy the river. There are too many people here in this area of FL, I have to find a quieter spot.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb