Getting to know the locals


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Cape Coral
November 9th 2015
Published: November 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Got up early and enjoyed tea and breakfast by the pool before going out to explore the area.

Looked at the suggestions on the sat nav for odeas where to go. First in the list. was a place called Bunche beach so thought we'd give it a try.

Stopped into Target to pick up a few things we neded, socks for Alex and new Fitbit bracelet for me, decided to grab a take out lunch to eat on our travels.

Bunche beach turned out to be a pretty location with shallow waters way out into the ocean on the edge of a natural park. The beach also had an interesting history as one of the first beaches black people were allowed to use before the days of racial equality.

Decided this would be a good place to eat lunch so settled into one of the picnic tables and began to eat. After a few minutes, I was gazing out at the ocean when something appeared in the corner of my eye, I jumped a mile screaming "what the f*** was that!".

Now as we had sat down I noticed a sign warning not to feed the wildlife, I assumed it was referring to the many birds around, I was wrong.

My little visitor was a cheeky raccoon and behind him in the grass was the whole family, showing way too much interest in my sandwich!

Eventually they backed off and retreated into the mangroves.

On the way out of the area we stopped by a kayak hire centre and decided that would be something on the list of things to do in the week.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1019.7kb