An American Tale


Advertisement
Published: September 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The last few days have been really full on... And that's just the food!

On Friday we travelled from Canada to the USA. We caught the bus from Toronto to Buffalo and then drove to Baltimore. There were many things that were awesome about this trip. Firstly, I saw Niagara Falls. They weren't as big as I'd expected. But it's a good thing to say I've seen! I also managed to keep track of the Collingwood score as I crossed the border into the USA. So nerve racking but awesome result!

The border crossing was intimidating. But we made it! Gee those American border officials like to ask a lot of questions. Plus I really didn't need to buy my ESTA visa before I came. Apparently that is only for people entering via air or sea. So they made me pay a $6 fee and gave me a visa. Ridiculous! And I'd dare say typical of this country.

When we arrived in Buffalo you could tell we weren't in Canada anymore. The food was bigger. The people weren't as friendly. And actually, the people were WAY bigger. I now declare that I will never EVER eat another MacDonald's breakfast.

Rachel and I navigated our way to Baltimore. It wasn't easy. But it was achievable. I drove! And I managed it fine. Sometimes it was hard not to drift to the left... but it was easy after awhile.

We weren't staying directly in Baltimore (thank god!). We were staying in the rich part of a suburb north of Baltimore - Hunt Valley. We went to dinner with Kelly and some of her family and friends. It was great to met some locals and catch up with an old dear friend.

Kelly's wedding was...interesting. I had to make friends - which I did. Something I was nervous about but glad I did! The bride looked amazing and the bridesmaids' outfits were also fantastic!

On Saturday night after the wedding Rachel and I went to grab some dinner. My knee gave way after wearing heels at the wedding all day. I stumbled on a curb. I fell. My foot is now VERY swollen and bruised. But all good - if worse comes to worse, I have insurance!

We were glad to head to DC on Sunday. On Monday we met up with Sal and headed to the White House. The most surreal moment of my life came when I asked a guy passing us in the street "excuse me Sir, which way is the white house?". Mental. And awesome! After seeing the White House (which isn't as big as it looks in movies) we went to the Willard hotel. We ended up drinking some cocktails in the bar and taking many photos. It was awesome to see some family history!

We then walked down to the Washington Monument and the Lincoln Memorial. It was AMAZING! It was definitely one of the coolest days I've ever had!

I will post photos in the next couple of days. And write some more about the fantastic Capital City!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb