Politics, burgers, and a whole lot of merchandise


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Massachusetts » Boston » Back Bay
October 2nd 2011
Published: October 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's been a full on a few days. I would never have enough time to write about every detail. Instead I am going to make some comments about my observations.

1. The USA needs to reign in capitalism.
- Now I know this is a fairly big call. However, if I was forced to visit one more shop at one more monument/museum/building, I was going to scream. Something Americans seem to fail to understand is that not everyone wants to buy stuff, ALL the time. I don't mind the presence of merchandise shops. I, in fact, bought the odd thing from the odd shop. However, making someone stop on a floor of a building specificially so they have to walk through a shop is OUT OF CONTROL (i'm talking to you Empire State Building and Top of the Rock).
2. Big isn't always better
- portions. They are too big. I don't need to say anymore
3. Australia could learn a thing or two about politics from the States
- people in the USA are so engaged with politics. I found that both in DC and NYC. They may not vote. They may be super negative - but they are also really happy to talk about it. A far cry from the usual response amongst friends in Australia "let's not talk about politics". Americans will argue, ask questions, and they appreciate their political history. This is probably the best thing about this country.
4. Pop culture references are EVERYWHERE
- I didn't quite realise how much Australia is influenced by American pop culture until I got to NYC. There were so many familiar sights, places, transport options, that I could relate to through a tv show or movie. It was one of the coolest things about NYC. Seeing all those things in real life.
5. NYC is AMAZING.
Absolutely amazing. Loved it. Love the noise, the vibe, the pace. Love the fact that every neighbourhood has its own feel and look. There's so much history and so many fantastic things to do. It will definitely be on my list of places to come back to. I think I could spend months in NY and still not do everything I wanted to do.

I've added some photos with this post which probably speak louder than words. In Boston now. Neighbourhood where I'm staying looks nice. Hostel is possibly the worst place I have ever stayed. I also feel like I'm coming down with the flu. Hoping to push through the dust in the room and the yucky smell and the unclean bathrooms, to still enjoy this city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 69, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb