DC


Advertisement
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Visiting Helener and Vladner - Dupont Circle



I almost come to DC once a year. Since my good friend Helen moved here, it gives me more reason to come back as often as I can. I like DC. It has this sophistication, charm and colonial setting that woos me. I also call DC a city of bricks or a city of circular drive. It is crazy almost every third intersection in the city is a circle. 😊 Whereas the circle is called a round-about in California, a funny name.

I stayed in Dupont Circle, one of my favorite spot which I am getting to know more each time on my visit. For those sweets lovers, the Krispy Kreme is right by the Metro station at Dupont Circle so that you can satisfy your sugar crave or be attempted before hopping on the Metro. Along either Mass Ave or 17th street, there is a variety of local eateries, pizzeria, Thai food, Gyro, Sushi and French bakery. In the midst of swirling traffic, urban fast-forward pace and people going about their business there is a little oasis -Dupont Park. A giant water fountain erects in the center of the park . The park for some people is a place to take a breezer and be outside during their lunch break, for some is a place to play a few chess game at their leisure and for some is their pets' public toilet. I was there at the right time. The weather was gorgeous in a December day. To be exact, it was in 60's. I got a cup of coffee from Starbucks. You might raise your eyebrows, Starbucks? What? when there are hundreds of local coffee houses to choose from. I like their Xmas blend, so only this time of the year, I choose Starbucks over unique local coffee house. I also picked up a NYT paper. Sitting on the long bench in the park, soaking up the sun, reading my favorite paper and enjoying a cup of hot coffee. Life is AS GOOD AS IT GETS!





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb