RUN FORREST RUN


Advertisement
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Run Forrest Run

It seems most of us spend our lives going somewhere or coming from somewhere. Some of us also find ourselves either running from something or running to something. In the present case, Lynne and I believe it is a combination of both.

I’ll begin this post with a very appropriate quote from the movie Forrest Gump.

“That day, for no particular reason, I decided to go for a little run. So I ran to the end of the road. And when I got there, I thought maybe I'd run to the end of town. And when I got there, I thought maybe I'd just run across Greenbow County. And I figured, since I run this far, maybe I'd just run across the great state of Alabama. And that's what I did. I ran clear across Alabama. For no particular reason I just kept on going. I ran clear to the ocean. And when I got there, I figured, since I'd gone this far, I might as well turn around, just keep on going. When I got to another ocean, I figured, since I'd gone this far, I might as well just turn back, keep right on going. When I got tired, I slept. When I got hungry, I ate. When I had to go... you know... I went.”

For those of you who may not have figured it out yet, I’ll fill you in.

Lynne and I are now sitting in the airport in Washington DC waiting an onward flight to Tennessee. Yes, we have left Kuwait and will not be returning. I know this my come of a shock to some folks, but it was time.

I will not use this blog to go down any negative road so I will keep this update short and sweet.

What we will share is that there has been many people who have made an impact on both Lynne and I during our 20+ months in Kuwait. If you are reading this, chances are you are one of these special folks we will miss tremendously.

So, what will we be up to now? We are anxiously awaiting some news from a dear friend and mentor. This will drive the train on our next movement. For now we will be in Tennessee until we hear some news. During our stay in the States, we will be spending some quality time with family, take some time to visit a few friends, and tend to some business before we launch off on our world-tour. The final stop on our agenda will put us right back in Washington DC where we will see a friend and mentor retire after 35 years of dedicated service to his nation. DC will serve as a launching point for our world-tour. Target date as of today is 1 June 2008, but is subject to change.

Ok, so one final thought on this update. As Lynne and I sit here in the airport, we both have a sense of freedom we have never known before. We have broken free of the ball and chain and it feels really great.

Effective this moment, we are now exploring uncharted territory for the both of us. We will be in the final planning stages of our trip right up to the moment we board the plane on 1 June. The planning will continue as we travel around the world.

Keep a close eye on this blog in the immediate future. I will be posting a special update from the heart.

I will also be finishing the updates to our trip to India. Unfortunately, our final preparations to leave Kuwait interupted my ability to make these updates.




Advertisement



15th March 2008

Wish you both the best!!!
Hey guys, I'll miss not seeing you at work and I've enjoyed working with you. We must live our lives to the fullest, stepping out is the hardest. Cindy Hi John, Patrick here. I 've enjoyed knowing and talking with you. I admire your adventurous spirit and your ability to let go the status quo, especially when such is no longer worth the headaches. Too many people become slaves to the "security" of the paycheck and hold onto jobs that have begun to eat at their souls.
16th March 2008

So Happy for You Both
We are so happy for you both. I know it was tough. Alan says hello and says to stop by if ya'll are in the neighborhood. Take care! We love the posts!
16th March 2008

running
WOW! (ha ha- no MWR pun intended) I was shocked to hear you guys were runners, but at the same time I was excited for you. I sort of got the feeling you were feeling tired and ready for a change of pace. Your world trip will be just the thing. I'm so excited for you guys. I know this decision was no easy one. You will be in my thoughts and prayers. look forward to updates in the future.

Tot: 0.482s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0732s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb