Washington ac/DC


Advertisement
Published: August 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After leaving my family in the heat of Jacksonville, I went to Dc to see my friends April and Shannon
On the 1st day we headed for the White house to have lunch with Obama, but rudely he stood us up and went on holiday instead. So we had a look inside and apple pie’d his bed for standing us up. It was really grand with a whole lot of history, though sadly I don’t know a lot of the American history so a lot of it was lost on me.
After the White house we had a gander at the bill of rights, declaration of independence etc.. apparently you cant take photos inside (this was yelled at us at every step you took, and these guys have guns so I wasn’t going to try).
In the evening we went to see a band thievery corporation, then headed off for a dance afterwards (feet were very sore the next day). A day of brunch, movies and rest was needed after dancing the night away.
On the Monday night we went to see the Nationals baseball team, sitting only in the best seats, right behind the home plate with free food and drinks all night. Thanks to April who scored the tickets through work.
Though the miserable moles at the game wouldn’t let me have and drink because they don’t accept foreign drivers licenses here only passports. Why would I take my passport out with me drinking? I would only lose it, they are insane. So it was a night of sneaky drinking for me.
That brings us to yesterday (Tuesday 23rd). Shannon and I had just been to lunch and were walking to the car when all of a sudden I lost my footing, thinking ‘what the eff’… then I realised the ground was moving and swaying, along with the buildings. Yup it was an earthquake. I heard some noises and felt something on my head, then in the shadows I saw stuff falling.. so I ran to the middle of the road. After that I realised it was bricks that were falling from the roof of the building I was in front of. It was pretty scary. A lady came up to us after and said it was very close and they only just missed us (I have a guardian angel looking after me that’s for sure). It was really surreal to actually see the ground swaying side to side beneath me.
After a day of dodging bricks and taking photos of some of the monuments we headed out to a woman’s basketball (another free score from a work friend of April’s). Was a great night with even better company.



Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Where the plane hit the PentagonWhere the plane hit the Pentagon
Where the plane hit the Pentagon

You can see the lighter colouring on the building, thats where the plane hit
Shannon and IShannon and I
Shannon and I

The Nationals baseball stadium


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb