June 5 Mt Algo Shelter, CT to Kent, CT .8 Miles to Our Daughter's home in CT miles unknown


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So much for all the early risers in the shelter! We woke up right at 6AM, I thought I heard someone in the shelter making breakfast or packing. CC was awake so I got all fixed up, rolled up my sleeping pad and headed out to make breakfast. Much to my surprise all four hikers, even the "I get up at 5AM" guy were still in their bags snoring away. Quietly, like our friend "Highwayman" used to do, I made breakfast and packed up my stuff. CC was close behind and we ate our oatmeal like church mice. One hiker woke long enough to say good morning, then rolled over for more sleep. Most everyone was only going into Kent then being picked up or getting a room so there was no need to hurry. We, on the other hand, had an early morning pick up time. Our daughter Joline was driving up from the coast to take us to her home. She works nights and was driving up after work.

We hit the trail into town by 7AM. 3/10 of a mile to the road and 1/2 mile to town. As we entered town the phone rang with Jo saying she and a friend were only a few miles from town. We said we would meet her there. We had enough time to reach the main intersection in town, and then I changed into my cleanest dirty shirt. They pulled up as I was tucking myself in.

The ride to Jo's house had a few stops, Dunkin Donuts (no need to say why) and EMS for new shoes and a few replacement things that have worn out over the past three summers. Then to the showers, laundry, good food and rest. We had a nice time there and were delivered back to the trail the next day by 11:30AM.

Patrick, Deborah Mooney aka OD & CC
All Who Wander Are Not Lost

For Photos and Video: http://odandccslongwalk.shutterfly.com/

OD and CC have been marking their path with a GPS using SPOT Satellite Messenger and can be tracked at the following link. It keeps track of their last 7 days: http://tinyurl.com/o2g53z

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb