Reflection


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Connecticut
September 7th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am that which shall never be again.
Trapped in the lost time between now and then.
Those who stand around me are never really there
For they exist not now but then.
Days, years, era’s, and eons
Shall pass until I return for
We are but ghosts shackled to the past.
And yet I can not stay here
For my path is in front of me
Awaiting for the first step.
Goodbye…
Goodbye.

Tg

Well the short summer is over and its class time again. It is very odd to be back at my home university after Kansai Gaidai, I mean besides the normal differences (I can actually read all the signs, although it still doesn’t mean I can comprehend there meaning though). The thing that I find most peculiar is that I keep seeing /looking for familiar faces in the crowds while walking the campus, but they never turn out to be the people I was looking for (of course 99% of the people I’m thinking of don’t even live in my state). This made me think on how much are perception is based on looking for the familiar. And while it is true that there are a finite number of facial features and in a school that enrolls thousands coming across someone that looks familiar isn’t usual. It does remind me of how much I miss the people that I met during the spring and fall. That said I think it’s important to be able to leave the familiar and your comfort zone to be able to develop as person. As such I have decided that my goal for the fall semester is to try and tackle as many different things that would normally make me feel uncomfortable. I believe this to be the first step in self-reflection, to realize one's boundaries so that they maybe transcended.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb