but Sunny days are better,


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Connecticut
August 21st 2008
Published: August 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happiness is nothing more than good health and a bad memory.
Albert Schweitzer


Of late I have been reconnecting with friends that I haven’t seen in a long time. While these are joyous occasions I find myself lately to be a little sad. Without me realizing it, this time last year I was getting on a plane for one of the scariest adventures of my life. That trip and the friends I made there have impacted my life so much that it has been a difficult summer to know how far away they really are. On top of which I am concerned with how the fall semester is going to play out because it’s packed with classes and work and running and other things. I keep telling my self to take one step at a time and to keep moving forward, but it is quite a daunting mountain before me to climb.

It has been an odd week to say the least in that I seem to be trapped between the past and an uncertain future. Lately I want more than anything to go running and hiking through the woods of Connecticut but find that I have been lacking the motivation to do so. I guess in part I am trying to enjoy these last few days before I get to change my daily routine into one that includes classes and homework. Summer is ending and while I can’t say that its has been one of the most exciting summers of my life, it has been a time of change. I’m going to end this morbidly depressing with a poem that is quite special to me, bear with me because I will probably always see it as a work in progress.

the dying light

cold steel rends flesh and bone,
dripping red beads down metal blades,
raining crimson tears upon the ground.
life’s flow ebbs from its mortal shell.
In the stillness silence prevails.

in our reckless greed we hold tight,
even as the sands of life slip away.
lost in a twisting emptiness while
snow falls covering all scars.
And the world fades to night.

in the harsh light of truth is seen
the fields of spears where fallen
remain, forever locked in battle.
souls sundered from this world.
Sightless eyes to bear witness to all.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb