Festivals, dramaqueens & waterstuff


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A lot has been going on the past few weeks. First I did some more cleaning, met up with more and more people who were coming up to work. I left on a Friday with Daisy to go to another camp for Wilderness First Aid training. That was heavy and a bit boring, heavy because there were speaking 'hot expensive English' all the time. E.g. bowel movement, respiratory, regurgitate..but hey I've got it. On our ride home Daisy & Tracy filled out a folder to kill time with over the top swim wear for the guys. Like thongs and see-through stuff. When we came back we moved to a bigger place and more or less 20 more people had arrived in the meantime. That was strange in the beginning. I started lifeguarding a day later. Those were long (and some cold) days. We also had some nights in the 'library' that's how we called the bar, we did roller skating, freezed our behinds off in the water, watched interesting fire people perform, saw a few of them naked (?), did some games, got my ear clogged, watched stars and more stars etc. All together: awesome!!

The kids arrived Sunday the 17th of June. I was really nervous, because I didn't know what to expect. That feeling I had off and on the first few days. A lot of switching with the tents already in the beginning, creating festivals (4 a day, 45 minutes each), cat fights between girls almost on a daily base. That got annoying fast, but on the other hand without it, it would be boring. I have a lot to relate to my last job, so that was good. It also made me miss my job. There are a lot of sweethearts here, it's so pretty, lots of water fun at the lake, cook sites every breakfast and dinner, lots of impressions, lots of animals. Even had a real life discovery channel show: a rat snake in a tree, birds getting really upset and attacking the snake, but it didn't move an inch, and went into the nest...impressive!! Also had some good workouts, long swims, rope swings, wet willy(=slide), hikes, army navy day (great attacking each other with water balloons and flower bombs😉), yoga, mud soccer etc.

We don't get a lot of sleep, and sometimes the kids are how they should be at this age: annoying! But I really do have a great time.

Some things to know:
- you can buy guns in Wal*mart;
- you can not buy a pocketknife without passport;
- same for a (alcoholic) drink;
- Martini: they don't know (only mixes..?);
- 'I love you' I hear at least 4 times a day;
- same for ' shut up' and 'fuck'.

I made some direct translations from Dutch to English: mierentietjes (ants titties), wentelteefjes (turning little bitches), kat uit de boom kijken (look the cat out of the tree), peper in je reet (pepper up your ass) in 7 sloten tegelijk lopen (walk in 7 streams at the same time), stront aan de knikker (there's shit on the marble) etc.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



2nd April 2011
beautiful...where??

stunning ;-)

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb