Jam PACKED fun & visits!


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so if you thought I've been running around a lot before now, I think today will bring it to the next level! In fact, I visited so many great people in my life today, that I'm gonna list them first, and then go back and add the details! Ok, and I still didn't get the wire/connection I need to upload photos...and WILL tomorrow (I know, you've heard this before...) I'll be at the door when the store opens 'cuz I have a lot of pics to share now!

Lisa Lombardo - this morning I went to Citizens Communications (formerly Citizens Utilitlies Company) and met up with my friend Lisa, who I worked with 17+ years ago! Lisa and I spent a lot of time together when we worked together...going out, always having a great time, and WOW did we laugh!!! And today? I haven't seen her in probably 3-4 years...and it felt like we'd been in touch as recently as 2 weeks ago. It seems to me that she's one of the anchors at Citizens, having been there for many years. We were only able to spend 15-20 minutes together 'cuz she was filling in for the CEO's assistant. Half of this time we spent CRACKING UP at some of the stuff we did, lived through, experienced (BANANA!)...I loved seeing her again!

Richard & Patty Everett - I've been trying to track these two down, but no luck so far. Richard hired me when I was 16 y/o, after I told him I had been fired from my last 2 jobs! Patty is his wife. I turned out to be a great employee, and worked with him for many years throughout H.S. & college. Both Richard & Patty were very good to me - I not only worked for them, I also felt like part of their family. Last time I saw Richard (2-3 years ago?), he told me about some serious medical problems he'd had, including major challenges with his heart. I want to say "quadruple bypass?" However, I'm not sure I remember for sure whether that was it? I think I remember him sharing with me that he drove himself to the hospital, while having a heart attack...?? I also remember it being hard to believe, never mind imagine. Richard owned "Photo Market" in New Canaan, where I worked, and it has since closed (he retired?). I went by his house a couple times today, and they weren't home. I'll keep trying and keep you posted!

Marnee & Bruce Raymond - Marnee Raymond is a great friend of Emma's, my grandmother (UT's mom). Marnee used to be the "Welcome Wagon" in New Canaan, welcoming new residents with a HUGE smile, much enthusiasm, and finally, a basket full of treats/coupons/local info. Bruce is her son, who I've been friends with since the early 90s, via Marnee and Emma - a wonderful man! I called Bruce a couple times since arriving, and today decided I needed to stop by. I had an amazing visit with them both, catching up on what's been happening with them, and in/around New Canaan. They have what I kept referring to as a "nature reserve" in their backyard...which includes many types of birds, squirrels, and chipmunks. We sat in the dining room around the table for most of our visit, while viewing/commenting on the incredible habitat through the sliding doors, right in front of us! Bruce recently took a trip to N. California for a few days to visit his daughter & new granddaughter, and I got to see all the photos (as well as several from their "nature reserve.") Phenomenal people...and a marvelous visit!

Joe's Pizzeria - yup, I made it to Joe's in New Canaan! I went to a Harry Connick, Jr. concert a few years ago in Wallingford, CT...at the former "Oakdale Theatre." In the middle of the concert, someone passed up an empty Joe's Pizza box to Harry, telling him to come in any time . . . he lives in New Canaan! The other reason I wanted to go was ... ok, for one, I was starving, and Joe's IS the best pizza in town ... AND, two, when I was in 8th grade at St. Aloysius (my only year spent in Catholic school), we were assigned "little buddies" from the 1st grade class. My "little buddy" was Nancy Colella, Joe (the owner's) daughter! We used to go to Joe's all the time, from 8th grade & after, 'cuz it was the best...and also 'cuz I would check in now and then on my "little buddy," who a year or two ago, I was told is married with a couple (?) kids! Wonderful family, and Joe's Pizzeria - a great success story!

Gloria Franco - my friend Katie's mom. I saw her briefly last week (not at tea time), and told her we'd have tea today at 3pm (tea time). Tea with "Glo" is a treat. When I think of an amazing, extraordinary woman - - "Glo," and the next person I visited, "Ada," are at the top of the list. Glo has 11 children, and I've felt a part of her family since 8th grade, when I be-friended Katie. Spending time with her is something I do every time I come "home;" it's a must-do. We talk about everything from family, New Canaan/family history...to books we've read, or are reading. "Glo" is one extraordinary lady, and I treasure our "tea times!"

Ada Osborn - wow - Ada and I go way back...to H.S. as well. I went to H.S. with her son, Richard. I met her at a retreat called Emmaus, and she was one of the speakers. There was an instant liking, admiration, and soul connection between her & I. I loved her from the moment I heard her speak...and I don't know that I'd had that kind of connection with anyone up to that point in my life! She was the closest thing to a "mom" I'd had at the time. I felt comfortable sharing things with her...and at the same time, we LAUGHED, LAUGHED...and we LAUGHED some more! Looking back, I think that was a big part of the attraction - here was a woman who had been through SO much, yet her sense of humor was enormous and never-ending! Today when I saw her, it was like I arrived home after many, many years. I hated to leave her because I felt like I connected with someone again that I never should have lost touch with - - and I have NO idea why I did not keep in better touch. Ada is doing great, and after all these years (at least 25?), she looks exactly the same! The only difference is she's lost some weight & looks FABULOUS! I am so glad to be back in touch with her, and I look forward to re-establishing a relationship that never should have been lost all this time...Ada, are you game? 😊

Katie O'Neill & Kris LaVecchia - my "gal pals" from H.S.! What a finale to a remarkable day! We went to The Lime Restaurant in Norwalk, CT. We'd gone there last year, and it's a FABULOUS vegetarian restaurant, and everything on the menu is freshly made & outstanding! I love both these women, and have since 1979/1980. Katie is my longest-lasting friendship (I changed schools a lot growing up); and Kris came along a year, maybe two, later. We had a blast in H.S...getting into all kinds of mischief ("beef hunts"). We went to concerts a LOT, our first being John Cougar (now Mellencamp). We later saw both the Police & Phil Collins/Genesis, who knows how many times! Both women are married to fantastic men...and Katie has 2 children/boys...Kris has 3 boys & a girl. When we get together, which in the past several years has been every year, it's as if no time has passed, and we catch right up. We had a wonderful time tonight, eating, enjoying, sharing, laughing - - it was great - and made me realize how much I miss them. 😊

Ok, it's late now...UT just go home a bit ago from seeing Joan...and I'm off to call my dear Greg...! I hope you all had a great Monday - - until SOON!





Advertisement



3rd July 2007

Beef Hunts?
OK, Emmacita... HS Beef Hunts? Now I'm hoping to meet Katie and Kris one day so I can get these details - I'm betting your were the instigator...:o)

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb