Last Day in the U.S....!


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

HAPPY 4th of JULY ALL!!! 😊

I'm running around like a crazy woman (ok, no comment y'all!) - - - getting last minute things done/handled...! Yesterday I did some running around to get some lil' stuff. I also had a long lunch with my brother, Stephen, and we shared a lot - I loved spending the time with him! Tommy, my other brother, was supposed to join us, but he something else that came up. UT & I then shot up to Tim's party...

TIM & JAMIE's party was FUN! What a set up - I couldn't believe it...! This was the 9th Annual 4th of July bash...and it happens every July 3rd. I think they have it down to a science...as far as set up, decorations (unbelievable!), signs reading "Adult Watering Hole," "Kids Watering Hole," "Appetizers," "Ribs (yum)," "Clams." There was SO MUCH FOOD - it was incredible! And how many people? I'd say at least 150, though I'm a terrible judge of "how many!" (UPDATE - my cousin Fred - UT's oldest - said there were over 200 people!) There were tons of kids there, of all ages, and there were tables set up with crafts, tatoo/stickers, bubbles (LOVE THEM). The boys played all kindsa ball most of the evening.

My brothers didn't make it 😞 They ended up spending some quality time together, which I think is great...!

The only other bummer? I didn't take many pics...! If I'd known it was going to be as it was, I would've taken some family pics upon our arrival, before everyone else got there...who knew! Oh well, there are a few shots...of the fire works display, of the kids sing-along...with about 4 or 5 guitars...singing Beatles tunes...! Several of the kids got up and played a set or two - with keyboard, electric guitar, flute, sax, drums, WHAT TALENT! Music was definitely a focus...and unfortunately, we left before the REAL jammin' began! I talked to Tim earlier today, and he said he got to bed at 4:10 (ZZZzzzz). We left a little after midnight...and got home 12:45 - so the party carried on much after we left. Some year I vow to attend & stay for the whole party...I'd love to join in the "jam session"!

I must say, Tim & Jamie put their hearts & souls into this party! I can't tell you how many friends & neighbors of theirs I met that wanted them to bottle their energy for ALL to share! They also raved about what great people those two are...and what a family they have. Tim & Jamie are an extraordinary pair, I love them to death...and my only regret is not having been able to spend more time with them.

Lastly, I called my "around the world trip" companion, Charise...and we had breakfast together this morning. She's doing great, and continues to have an amazing attitude, about EVERYthing - including several health challenges she & her daughter have. I got to see her home in Fairfield, CT...and her husband, Paul, and 2 kids, Jordan & Carly...adorably cute! I have to share this - - - Charise met Paul a few months before our trip (October 1991). And they were serious (so much for us 2 single girls invading the world...!). She left Paul for 6 months...returned for her sister's wedding...and they were eventually married. VERY cool story, about two great people - - I love it!

I also got to talk to a long-time friend, Mrs. Riordan..and catch up with her...and hear about her twin girls, who I've known since 8th grade (maybe before!). Both Deb & Liz are doing great...and I look forward to catching up with them "in person" SOON!

Okie dokie - - my dear cousin Fred needs to get online...and I need to go gather, organize and pack the rest of my crap...and take a shower! LOVE YOU ALL, next time you hear from me it'll be from England!

Ah, I finally got the wire I need to upload photos, but I don't have time to figure it out...I'll get them up asap, k? K.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb