Driving to the Rocky Mountains


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
November 10th 2013
Published: November 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We went to bed pretty early. Another RV pulled in next to us which made me feel better. It feels kind of weird staying in a parking lot. Of course Ken introduced himself. A couple older than us heading to Denver for their daughter's surgery. He wished them well. I know sometimes I make fun of Ken for talking to EVERYONE he meets, but it really is helpful. I just don't like when they come knocking on my door when I'm getting out of the shower (fortunately that didn't happen last night). We are hoping we have enough water in our tank for showers tomorrow. We have a generator so we are good with power. The Walmart is open 24 hours and several times during the night I heard vehicles, but slept pretty good.

Up at 6am, we took showers, made eggs, coffee and tea. As we were washing dishes, the water started sputtering-just enough to finish. We used bottled water to brush our teeth. Time to head out. I step out of the RV and see a beautiful sunrise behind the Walmart sign-beauty is everywhere! There is a pickup truck with a trailer and I hear cows mooing. The sunrise was beautiful reflecting off the grass. We enjoyed our warm beverages as we headed west. There aren't many travelers out this morning (7am).

We saw a sign for a Starbucks in Colby, KS so we stopped. It's in a truck stop which I have never seen before; and it is quite nice. I get a venti cool lime refresher and Ken gets a grande Americano with 3 honeys. Back on the road, it's very cloudy. It's amazing what the sunshine does....everything looks and feels better.

We crossed over the Colorado state line at 10:15 am. It's foggy. We listened to classical on Sirius for awhile, until it started making us drowsy. The sun came out! We put my music on. I started looking for campgrounds in Colorado. I figured we would stop in Vail tonight. I found lots of campgrounds but they all closed in September! So I looked further west and found a nice one in Gypsum-River Dance RV Resort and Campground. We called them to make sure they were open and at least had running water. Shelly was very nice and assured us they are open and have full hookups. It sits along the Eagle river with rolling hills, farmland and surrounded by mountains in all directions. Sounds a bit better than last night. I also found a restaurant nearby-'Creek Side Clubhouse and Grill. I won't be running into Walmart for a chicken tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb