My last pass for now.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado
September 12th 2011
Published: September 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My last pass looking back...for nowMy last pass looking back...for nowMy last pass looking back...for now

The road through this pass was built by convict labor. It was too arduous for anyone else.
September 12 Heading back to Texas
I headed up Hwy 14 today to Walden then across to Ft Collins . I drove through the Roosevelt National Forest and I over the Cameron Pass (10,276 ft) and then through the canyon of the Cache la Poudre River. Very scenic and winding roads. I guess that is the last Pass for now because when I got to Ft Collins I thought things over and decided to head back to Texas. I have had a great time traveling and I am look forward to spending some time at home again.
It was something of a shock to me when I got into Ft Collins and was getting some gas because of the noise level. I have gotten used to mountain meadows where the only sound is of a cool wind blowing softly and a small stream nearby. It is hard to imagine how quiet it can be till you have actually experienced it. All there was up there was me and the critters.
Oh well, I figure it’s the middle of September so it ought to start cooling off in Texas soon. I am in La Junta, Colorado and tomorrow I will go visit
Bent’s Fort and then head back down 287 towards Texas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb