Hello Snow


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Rocky Mountains
December 4th 2008
Published: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There's no such thing as "getting it out of your system".

A taste of Amsterdam wasn't enough.
A glimpse of Colorado wasn't enough.

I want everything that this big bad world has to throw at me.
A part of me wants the stability and comfort of the post college life that all my friends lead. I want the cute apartment with the IKEA and garage store furnishings. I want the semi-fulfilling 9-5 job with Free Lunch Fridays. I want the little herb garden in a sunny kitchen window. I want the camaraderie of commiserating about being a poor post-grad over margaritas.

But a bigger part of me wants to kick that part in the butt.

This part of me wants the fine coating of sand of a Caribbean beach. Creamy dessert in a French Villa. Snowflakes on my tongue at the top of The Rockies. Haggling in foreign languages. Sleeping on beds I don't know. Learning card games in hostels. Living in the places that people take vacations. Snorkeling. Hiking. Horseback riding. Sailing. Discovering. Tasting. Learning. Running. Freeing. Being.

I'm going back to Colorado.

All these pictures are why I'm not going to succumb to the 9-5 Real World quite yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



26th April 2009

You're right
Thanks for sharing those gorgeous pictures of C-rado. You've already seen a lot of the world and probably more than most. Trust your instinct, you'll know when it's time to commit to the 9-5 thing. Don't feel that by doing that your life is somehow restricted. The "job" is about learning, doing, developing life long skills and relationships and preparing for perhaps another chapter in your life. No one can expect that you would have it all figured out at your young age. Do set goals for yourself and watch how those baby steps can lead to achieving those goals.

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb