Back in the USA!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Niwot
November 30th 1999
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Costa RicaCosta RicaCosta Rica

The view from our hotel room.
We are finally home after 9 months of roaming the world. Our last few days of the trip we spent golfing, sunning and zipping the lines in Costa Rica -- what a blast --but the real magic came when we stepped off the plane in Denver. How to explain what that felt like? Like comfort and happiness and family, all rolled into one. It sounds so cliche, I'm sorry, but there is no place like home and when I say home, I mean our home here in Colorado, but I also mean the United States of America. If you want your kids to appreciate what they have and where they live, take them to places like Cambodia or Zimbabwe or India, all of which are stunningly beautiful but with much poverty. This has been an experience we could never duplicate (nor would we want to) and probably never equal in terms of its effect on all of us.
Thank you for taking the journey with us. Thank you for religiously reading my ramblings and poring over the pictures wherein we tried to capture some of the beauty of what we saw. As much as my family would like me to, I'm
Canopy TourCanopy TourCanopy Tour

The boys waiting for their turns on the zip line.

Canopy Tour
The boys waiting for their turns on the zip line.NOT writing a book about all of this, but if you ever need advice on travels to any of these places, don't hesitate to contact us. The blog is not going anywhere, so enjoy it as much as you would like. I know we will.
All our love,
Ted, Jill, Tyler and Griffin Nelson

P.S. Some stats for you:
We visited 42 countries
We stayed in 100 hotels
We took 3 cruises and 9 trains
We had 73 flights for a total of 89,670 miles EACH (Ted had more; Ty had less)


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Canopy TourCanopy Tour
Canopy Tour

Jill all geared up for the zip lines.
Canopy TourCanopy Tour
Canopy Tour

Ted coming in for a landing.
Canopy TourCanopy Tour
Canopy Tour

Can you see why at least a dozen people asked if the boys were twins...


23rd June 2007

Welcome Home
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about each of your stops. We truly feel like in some way we experienced it with you. Your pictures were also amazing. We can't wait to see you all, hug your necks and watch the slide show.
23rd June 2007

New York
Hi Guys, I glad your back safe and sound. I had dinner with Janet and Rudy last week and we all can't wait until you visit New York so we can have dinner. Looking forward to seeing you. Myra
23rd June 2007

Yay!! Y'all are back!!
I'm so excited that y'all are back in CO!! All of the Blog entries were incredible..the stories, pictures, everthing!! I can't wait to see y'all in August!!
24th June 2007

Welcome Home!
I loved reading every word and seeing all the wonderful sights. It was great, thanks for sharing your adventures. I can't wait to see you. You have inspired me to overcome my fear of flying, and to get out there and see the world. Becky W.
24th June 2007

What a journey
We tried to picture ourselves on the boats, or on safari with you. The narative in the blog drew you in to the activities and made you wish you were there. So glad you had a great (and safe) trip! Ted, 9-months, wow ! Hope you checked the cars for any chicken before you left. (Smile) Welcome back !!!
24th June 2007

Back Home - Yeah!!
Well now what??? I know...you already have plans for the summer!!! I know now that I don't need to ask a travel agent, I will just call my own personal tour guide from around the world with the important questions. HAHA We are so glad you are all safe and sound back home!! Love ya!!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb