Lost Lake hike


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Boulder
August 21st 2007
Published: August 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We woke up late after a late night drinking session, and had a big brekkie at Becca's place. Becca & Tyson then decided to take me on a hike in the area, which I was sort of nervous about, since they are athletes & have a slightly different take on a "little hike" than I do. Becca's friend recommended a hike nearby, so we drove through the beautiful mountains past Nederland (called Ned by the locals) to the Hesse wilderness area. We parked the car & I got all of my new kit on (new hiking boots, water bottles, binoculars, camera, etc). The hike to the Lost Lake started at 9000 feet & ended at 9800 feet, over 3 miles. It was really beautiful, passing mountain streams & through the forest. Becca & Tyson were great & went at my slow pace. I don't know if it's the altitude, being totally out of shape or the jetlag, but it was pretty hard going, and I was a total sweatball before long. At least I could stop for lots of water breaks along the way.

When we got to the top it was incredible- a gorgeous silent mountain lake pearched near the top of the peaks. You could see the reflection of the mountains in the lake, and aside from the mosquitos it was perfect. We headed back down, and decided that were too tired to cook when we got home so ate at Katmandu restaurant in Ned. A great introduction to the mountains, and I was really happy that my boots were comfy!

(Pix to be uploaded shortly, please check back!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb