California dreamin' including Tom Hanks, Free Willy, Wedding Chappels & Co.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
June 30th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello out there!

It's been a while, I know... and that's why I have a lot to tell and loooads of pictures for you for a change!😉

I spent almost a week in amazing San Francisco where there's lots to do and see like cycling the Golden Gate Bridge to Sausalito and even further up the hills to have a fantastic view on the bay, chekcing out the steep streets, the Fisherman's Wharf and much more. Oh, and shopping... right, you shouldn't come up with that idea as a backpacker, BUT the dollar is so cheap... and there were even sales on... and the shops are just amazing. So I couldn't resist the one or other shirt for $10 (=7 EUR only)!

So I met some people from the San Francisco Industrial Ecology conference. After a crazy day in San Fran at the Ashbury & Haights Street Fair, walking across the massive Golden Gate Park, hanging out at the beach having some drinks in the garden of a nearby bar, we had American dinner in a real classical Burger place with juke boxes. Em, Sam and me decided to rent a car the next day to head north
Photo 92Photo 92Photo 92

Californian paradise
to see one of the biggest trees in Muir Woods, drive along the beautiful coastal Highway #1, visit Peluma and the Sonoma Valley wine country. There we checked out the wine tastings (oh dear) and then enjoyed our newly acquired bottles of the tasty Californian wine in the 24hr pool and hot tube of our bungalow, which we found for a bargain. Good times, guys!

So I haven't stayed in real hostels for a while and as Em & Co were gone, I happened to bump into two British girls in the hostel's kitchen in San Francisco... nothing special? No... it's just that I already met them in New York!haha Small world! So I decided to go to Monterey next to cycle the scenic mile drive along the coast, which was indeed worth it! I couldn't get enough of that gorgeous coast view that I took the Pacific Surliner train to get to Los Angeles (sorry Greyhound). And there Willie waited for me to pick me up. He lives in Santa Monica a few blocks from the beach. At Santa Monica Pier you get to see the real America it seemed to me... and the beach itself almost reminded me a bit of whale watching sometimes. Anyway, I happened to go to Hollywood when Tom Hanks & Julia Roberts also went there to watch their new movie Larry Crowne!

And then there was another highlight: 24 hrs in Vegas! (one more day would have killed me I tell you) Not only is it extremely hot there right in the middle of the dessert with temperatures of up to 40° C, but the city really deserves its name: Sin City! Why? Sorry guys, I can't tell you - because what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas it says!:D But I can tell you that I had one of the craziest nights of my life there and believe it or not, I almost got arrested again - but better than getting married, isn't it?haha So I spent the we back in LA and on Sunday Willie took me sailing with friends of his! That was pretty cool as I've never done that before! We even had dolphins swimming next to us! Well, watching them is one thing...

I made a short trip to San Diego for two nights, where James lives. I could surf his couch in Pacific Beach,
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Oakland
also just a few blocks from the sandy beach and all the bars and restaurants round the corner. So no surprise we partied a bit too hard the first night and I only made it to Sea World at noonish. But it was absolutely fantastic! I didn't expect anything like that. And I was even lucky and got to touch a dolphin! He came up to the wall and firmly asked for it! Hundreds of people stand there at the pool, but not everybody is that lucky... 😉

After another two nights back in LA it was time to fly out to Mexico City.... and there another surprise of the trip was waiting for me. My Mexican friend Sebastian was unexpectedly deported from Europe and is now back home. He invited me to stay with his family, who are such lovely people - and the Latin American hostality is outstanding anyway. It was probably the biggest change to move on from Califonia to Mexico City on this trip (even if LA is the city with the most Mexicans in the states). But as I had no expectations as usual, I was pleasantly surprised again! The first Mexican night out
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

San Francisco Fisheman's Wharf Pier 39
with some friends of his were a blast! And the scariest thing I've experienced here so far were passing by the branches on top of the open-deck bus! Tomorrow we will hit the rollercoasters in the Six Flags park. And when we bring a bottle of coke, we get a discount on the already reasonable entrance fee... I love this country already!😉 Also, I'm getting used to the comida picante here, Seb is steadily increasing my spice level.

Ok, that was a short long summary of the past couple of weeks. Next stop? Good question, next question. I've got 28 days left until my return flight from Cancún... which I will hopefully make! But that's another story...

Hasta la proxima vez!

Besos,

Katrrrrrin






Additional photos below
Photos: 166, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

San Francisco aka Frisco
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

San Fran Bay
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Golden Gate Bridge
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

the hilly steets of San Francisco
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

San Francisco cable car
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

avec l'écharpe et la veste de Cecile
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

Transamerica Pyramid


Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb