T-Minus 1 day !


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
August 16th 2005
Published: August 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dearly beloved,

I am one day away from reality giving me a hard, cold slap on the back of the head. I leave the comfort of my parents house in San Diego tomorrow at an abismal 4:30 am. My flight departs for New York where I shall see the lovely Samantha Kaufman for two nights before flying from JFK to London on Friday night where the true tale shall begin of two lost souls trying to find there place in the big world. It is funny to look back on how this all began. After being very politely asked to leave my job as a Resident Advisor in October of 2004, I moved into the same room as my dear friend Adam London. We would often have frivolous conversations about the meaning of life and crazy girls before we reached this grand epiphany of travelling around the world together. After quite a few beers and a lot of laughs we have come up with a rough travel plan that takes us to five continents and over 20 countries during a 8 month span. Some of the highlights include Slovenia, Croatia, Turkey, Egypt, Namibia, Thailand and Australia. It is going to be brilliant in every which way and I shall do my best to keep you informed of Adam and myself's trials and tribulations as we circumnavigate the globe in 240 days.
CARPE DIEM.

Advertisement



17th August 2005

A few last words...
Lloyd, I'm going to miss you. You really have gone a step beyond what most people can only imagine to do in their lifetimes. Even though you're gone for 8 months, and am going to miss you sincerely, I'm behind you 100% for this journey. You truly are an inspiring brother. I'm more the reserved, good-looking, and gentleman-type younger brother, while you are the adventurous, party-hard, slightly-crazy older brother. I hope your adventurous side will brush off on me a little one day so that I may also go traveling. I was thinking about what you said about meeting you guys up in Thailand come Spring Break (my b-day), that may just be the kind of adventure I'm looking for. Even though I just finished a 12 page paper on Malaria and how it's disasterous affect has impacted the world (namely Thailand) I am still strongly contemplating on going. Lloyd, I know it sounds cheesey, but no matter where in the world you are, you're still my big brother, and I love you. I will miss you, mom and dad will miss you, and our beloved homeland misses you. Go experience the world, have fun, be safe, and enjoy the journey of a lifetime. Ek lief van jou boet. Cheers, Dean.
19th August 2005

Look forward to hearing more...
Give us the scoop the next time you're at some internet cafe. Don't worry, they're everywhere ('cept America). Good luck and don't get sick of each other! Just stay open to whatever happens...

Tot: 0.479s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1092s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb