The festive season!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Santa Barbara
October 27th 2006
Published: October 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

heading southheading southheading south

On our way to LA
Kia Ora!

Its been a a while, I apologise, but im still alive. Santa Barbara is keeping me well. Actually, more than well. I love it here sooo much.... Ive really settled in and im having so much fun, despite the 20 units that Im taking (equivalent to 6 papers at AU)..yes Lisa got a tad excited when enrolling as usual and now I suffer...

So here are a few of the note-worthy events thus far...

*Spent the weekend in LA 2 weeks ago...a friend and I persuaded this guy in our house to take us to his crib in Englewood so he did...it was exciting to see ppl from Studio City church again...

*Last weekend I went on a Fall Retreat with Student Life...well spent weekend...met lots of ppl and began to develop some good relationships...

*I also bought a bike last weekend..white cruiser...its my new best friend...still trying to figure out who gives way though at the round abouts on campus and at intersections..could be useful...

*So i initally joined the Polynesian Dance group and at the first practice, 6 American guys stood up and performed the Haka and a Samoan slap dance...talk
sunset...sunset...sunset...

Alley and Claire..2 of my 15 house mates...
about unexpected. I went home almost depressed that night...(homesick).They also asked me to teach them some Samoan dancing...i cracked up laughing...i couldnt do it justice so I wont...

*I also went to a "NZ information session" yesterday for those Americans who want to study abroad in NZ and had to give a little spiel about our oh so great nation...it was actually harder to decribe than I thought...i even learnt some interesting trivial facts..like Dunedin was once a scottish settlement, and out of 4000 students at Lincoln university, 700 are international students...(thats a lot)...and that Auckland is built on volcanoes...well i kinda knew that...I also met 2 other kiwis which was such a relief...we had a great yarn afterwards...

*RANDOM- this guy in my house asked if I was Maori...lol (he was very serious)


*This weekend...WELL this weekend is going to be crazy...of course because its Halloween...i dont know if there is anywhere else in the world that celebrates Halloween as intensely and as extensively as they do here in college town, Isla Vista. (Jade you would know from ur first hand experience....you were here last year!) So its thursday night...Halloween is not even until tuesday
wana ride?wana ride?wana ride?

Check out this Hummer Limo...
but the partying starts tonight...i was just biking back from my friends house and I saw Cat in the HAt, lots of girls wearing next to nothing...a policeman (dont know if he was really a cop or dressing up)...a cheerleading guy and girl....Sherly Temple...and many more...

Its going to be an overwhelming weekend...streets will be closed at night...security is extremely tight...ppl are going crazy and all out with finding costumes...i cant wait to see everyone dressed up...ive heard bizarre stories of ppl dressing up as ipods, a "My space" user interface...bob sleighers from "Cool Runnings," tectrix blocks....ketchup sauce packets...ppl are creative here...Ive havent decided what I want to be yet...but its my bday on sat too so i was thinking about going as a candle...a scented one too....or not...

So watch this space...il update in a few days if I make it though the chaotic streets....!

p.S Someone vote for Indira for me please! I cant wait for the triple celebration on Sat night (ur sun)


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

student life guysstudent life guys
student life guys

Nick, Brenton, Austin and forgot the other guy's name...
Cameron and AshleyCameron and Ashley
Cameron and Ashley

At the guacamole festival downtown Carpenteria
Aor and IAor and I
Aor and I

On our way to Real life fall retreat..Aor is an international student from Thailand...I met her in ballroom dance class...shes about to do her masters in Law at Berkeley next year..
Avacado festivalAvacado festival
Avacado festival

Brenton very disgusted at his guacamole ice cream..i was too...
retreatretreat
retreat

Woodstocks pizza
retreatretreat
retreat

Aor, Melissa and I at the park
retreatretreat
retreat

the guy standing up in the green,Josh (campus minister), tackled me to the ground tonight after real life..crazy American boys...
retreatretreat
retreat

Charissa and I
retreatretreat
retreat

Vanessa, JAckie, Aor, Brenton (aka Rambo) and I
retreatretreat
retreat

Christina, Alex and mua...
retreatretreat
retreat

THe boys singing Bohemian Rhapsody at kareoke
retreatretreat
retreat

Caitlin, Aor and i
NatalieNatalie
Natalie

..one of my house mates upstairs..we were having Sushi for lunch in Santa Monica
Downtown Santa B.Downtown Santa B.
Downtown Santa B.

State St...love the Spanish architecture..Santa B. was once a Spanish Missions town..hence named after Barbara the Saint
--
-

Goleta Beach
--
-

a house in Carpenteria...i thought it was somewhat outstanding..
Katherine BeckKatherine Beck
Katherine Beck

My room mate...suited up for our Friday 13th party


27th October 2006

COOOL
It looks all sooooo fun!!!!I am so jealous!hehe girl finally you get bike, now who's ghetto!hehe lov u lots love seeing your life over there xoxox Char'
27th October 2006

Hey beautiful girl man it sounds like a whole heap of fun over there.Things are good at home we had Indiras homecoming last week which was very cool and of cause Daph is now Daph Owen. An awesome wedding it was too. Anyways hun i must be going but thought id drop in to say I LOVE YOOH!! MISS YOU HEAPS! but am so excited for you! Praying for you! and Yes i will add in a vote for you for Indira lol ive been doing it a little overboard lol over a hundred text a week lol but what an awesome cause to support:) Love you heaps. Lissa:)
28th October 2006

MS
ohh Liza..honestly can you come and take me with you PLEASE!!
30th October 2006

FUN FUN FUN!! Such is life... love reading you living your life in Him to the fullest!! neli

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb