School Time!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Santa Barbara
September 30th 2006
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

House matesHouse matesHouse mates

Ralph the Mex who loves to drink, drink and drink...Daniel from Brazil is pretty much the same way!
So I had my first day of school on Thursday...very good...

God has been so good. I found a whole bunch of entrepreneurship courses, literally the night before school started and manged to enrol into them (ie...entrepreneurial finance, marketing, art of being a CEO, ,new ventures, feasibility clinic, etc.)...man Char and Sieli, you would so love it...they're so exciting! (And they have something exactly like Spark as well!).

I had a communication class called "Persuasion" in the morning...dont ask how I decided to take that class...its actually really interesting and stimulating...as funny as the title sounds...
Then I had Music studies in the Romantic era in the afternoon...theres like 6 ppl in the class and the professor is cross-eyed..but so far so good...how we ended up watching a cartoon of bugs bunny playing a piano concerto- i do not know.
Then I had entreprenuerial finance in the afternoon which was mainly just basic accounting revision almost.

ANother thing that Ive become involved with is "Real Life" which is the same as "Student Life" (christian campus group). Theres about 200 students plugged in and we meet in this outdoor tent every thursday night. Theres this place called Storke Plaza
more house matesmore house matesmore house mates

Daniel, Jim, David and Patricia
right in the middle of campus which looks very similar to Aotea Square. We had a worship night there on Tuesday which was fun. We sang this one worship song which reminded me of NZ and got me a tad teary eyed- I cant remember the name but the one that goes "distant shore and the islands will see, your love as it rises on earth..." that one.

Other than that...Ive settled in very well. I live in the "MAnley House." Its surrounded by fraternities and sorereties. My house mates are party animals but I love 'em. Nearly all of them speak Spanish so hopefully il come back tri-lingual...
My room mate Katie is cool..shes 20 as well, from Manhattan Beach (LA)...she just came back from doing her study abroad in Spain...she fell in love with Barcelona and talks about it all the time.

I love the house im living in...its literally a 5 min walk to campus and 10 min walk to the ocean/ beach. Theres a 24 hr burrito cafe 5 minds down the rd too...THe gym is FREE!! (no excuse for me now)..the BUS is FREE! THis really is studying in luxury!

Oh and
party timeparty timeparty time

JT, David and pAtricia
another thing i have to inform you about is the biking culture in UCSB...man it is cool! EVERYBODY BIKES!..to campus, around campus, around Isla Vista (its the small college town im living in which is jam packed with uni students). Youre not cool if you dont have a bike. There are bike lanes all over campus...pedestrians have to give way to bikes...there are round-abouts for bikers and you have to be extremely careful when crossing bike lanes...(its more dangerous than crossing normal roads) ...so theres a bike auction coming up and for shizzle im getting me a bike...one with a basket and a bell hopefully...lol...

Theres way more to tell you about this crazy UCSB culture and town...but Il save it...love you guys..missing you...Kiwis!

P.S. TAmpa House I miss you very much! I almost scabbed a ride to LA this morning but the guy was still drunk from last night when he left...but I will be there very soon! Cant wait!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

what can i say?what can i say?
what can i say?

Kais...drinking vokda from a bowl...he got arrested that night for being drunk in public...
go travellers!go travellers!
go travellers!

David is our honorary couch crasher from Germany..
IV TheatreIV Theatre
IV Theatre

For such a small town...i love all the different theatres (go art supporters!)..this is Isla Vista theatre..i have "persuasion" in this theatre
ATO?ATO?
ATO?

This is the frat right across from our house
my home for nowmy home for now
my home for now

The Manley house!
......
...

Typical Isla Vista
......
...

...blond sorority chiks and their cute blu e bikes with bells and baskets...they're everywhere!
...breakfast at 2pm (Sat)...breakfast at 2pm (Sat)
...breakfast at 2pm (Sat)

Claire and Katie (red)...my room mate
bikes/boards...rule the streetsbikes/boards...rule the streets
bikes/boards...rule the streets

Embarcadero Del Norte which means "the rd on the north"
......
...

Bike lane on campus
UCSBUCSB
UCSB

Storke Plaza...where we had worship..its like the uni quad but much nicer.
UCSBUCSB
UCSB

Storke Tower...
UCSBUCSB
UCSB

Volley at the International student picnic/bbq
......
...

Goleta Beach
IV beachIV beach
IV beach

This is Manami and I...my Japanese friend


1st October 2006

parties are just the beginning...
yay... good work on keeping the blog up and on the go.... loving the visuals and the lil liza tones in all your bloggy-ness. cuidate, nos vemos...
1st October 2006

Hey lil saint!!
Hey sis... yes it's so good to hear from you - hope all you're looking after yourself!! you managing to get out to church there regularly? So proud of you Lis... and yes - Neli is now married!!! YAY!! (finally some might say) neli
1st October 2006

HI!
Im soo excited...youre a married man! Praise God...wish i was there...hope it was perfect! Yes i went to the Studio City church for 3 weeks..i loved it. I couldnt find a church last week but im going to check out Reality Carpenteria in Santa Barbara tomorrow...one of the campus ministers from real life is taking me. Most of the UCSB college students go there so im excited! Miss you heaps though...you must be busy. drop me a line whenever. Love you Neli.
5th October 2006

Hey!
Hey hun, Love the Goleta photo! cant waiiiiit for summer! still remember our mission bay sun tan outing?hahaha..wow cant wait to chill with you next year and ride out bikes thru your campus!i'll email you a full detail catch up:D:D xoxox Char'
7th October 2006

I miss Santa Barbara!
Random Tblogger here just checking up on SB. I recently graduated and your pictures are bringing back such memories! That crazy Ochs Gijs! Have a great year at UCSB. You will love it!
7th October 2006

Go girl!
Hey my friend. From your Christchurch/American sister. So happy that you stayed with my best friend in LA. I'm so sorry that I couldn't get my act together for your stay. Glad things worked out. I was actually going to ask her to put you up. Glad it worked out. Be careful my friend out there. UCSB is a huge party place like UCLA. Be forwarned. One thing don't walk around at night by yourself please! Take care of yourself and be wise. Love ya. Can't wait to see you again!

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb