Vancouver to San Francisco, October 19-November 3, 2012


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
November 5th 2012
Published: November 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Vancouver to San Francisco

Total actual distance for this leg was 1971km.

I spent eight full days in Vancouver, staying at Grandma's place, visiting friends and family. I bought some gear for the trip from MEC (clothes and camp stove), waited for my renewed driver's licence to arrive from Edmonton then picked up an International Driving Permit, hiked the Grouse Grind a few times and went swimming with Grandma a bunch of times. Thanks to the Beckinghams and Thiessens for having me over to their places for dinner. More thanks to Colin, Mark, and Tom for their motorcycling tips, suggestions, and mechanic skills. And a big thanks to Grandma for having me at her place while I was in Vancouver.

Last Sunday, I was getting the bike all packed up to leave for Seattle. I had left the bike out in the rain for over a week and when I started the ignition, the engine barely turned over and basically nothing happened. Luckily for me, my Grandma's neighbour Colin and his friend Mark were over to 'see me off' only I wasn't going anywhere. After flooding the engine pretty good, Mark suggested we jump start the bike by rolling it down the hill. I had no idea how to do that (now I do) but that didn't get the bike started either. After Colin and Mark were so good as to push me back up the steep hill, they got some booster cables to jump start the bike with Mark's truck. Of course, I didn't know where my bike battery was (now I do), and once we figured that out how to get the bike seat off to access the battery (now I do). The bike started up on the first try and after letting it run for about fifteen minutes I was actually off on my way to Seattle, only an hour and half behind schedule! Stopped for a last brunch with my cousins Jacquie and Naomi and was off. I sported my new acquired rain gear (thanks Tom) all the way to Seattle and, of course, it didn't rain the entire way.

I had booked three nights at the Green Tortoise hostel in Seattle right beside Pike Market, where Starbucks started. After checking in, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that Sunday night was free spagetti night. Free spagetti night transitioned nicely into a pub crawl which made for a nice intro to Seattle. Spent the next day exploring the city on foot. Tuesday, I had an appointment to have the bike serviced. Alex at Lake City Motorsports basically gave me a two-hour lesson on basic motorcycle maintenance while he checked out my bike. He replaced my battery (which was not in good shape) with a maintenance free battery (which I like the sound of much better), changed the chain on my bike to once I could change myself, replaced the air filter, and checked all the fluids, tire pressure, and spokes. I picked up a few tools I didn't already have and left feeling a lot more confident about my motorcycle knowledge. Thanks Alex! Made it back to the hostel in time for the brewery tour, which consisted of getting in a van, visiting two micro-breweries and sampling as much beer as you wanted, all for $15. Not a bad deal.

Wednesday, I hit the road for San Francisco in the rain. Just past Portland, I stopped at MotoSport Hillsboro, following a recommendation from Tom in Vancouver, to pick up some proper motorcycle gear. The boys at the shop hooked me up with a new riding jacket and pants, a battery powered heated vest, and tank bag for the bike. I was more than happy to ditch my old gear, particularly the pants which were made for a guy about 5'10" and were way too short for me. Oregon has no sales tax and that's why I had waited till now to buy new riding gear. I continued on to Cannon beach that night, arriving in rain and fog, and getting spooked by a hitch hiker at the side of the road in the fog (this happened almost in exactly the same spot as the last time I drove to Cannon beach with my brother Steve for a wedding about 9 years ago). Because there wasn't any place cheap to stay in Cannon Beach, I doubled back up the road to Seaside, where I found a cheap motel and ordered a large pizza. I'd forgotten I was in the States and the pizza that arrived was enormous; It was three days later that I finished the last of the pizza, eating it for breakfast and dinner every day.

Thursday and Friday, I continued down the coast, spending one night in a Yurt, basically a canvas tent with a heater that is already set up for you in a campground. I crossed into California and trees got bigger and bigger. Made a slight detour into Jedidiah State Park to check out some Redwoods and then continued south well past dark. Saturday, I had about 360km to San Francisco which ended up taking me eight hours on the bike. A lot of time was spent in 2nd and 3rd gears because I had decided to follow the windy coastal Highway 1, which goes through a bunch of small towns. Anyway, I finally crossed the Golden Gate Bridge into San Franciso and had the joy of experiencing taking a motorbike up some of their crazy steep streets. Made it to my friend Jack's place before dark. Me and Jack went to high school together in Uganda and I haven't seen him in about 7 years. Went out for Indian food and beers and it was great to catch up. Sunday, Jack took me on a walking tour of the city and by the time we finally made it back to his place we were both bagged. Ordered Thai food and watched Men In Black 3. It was a good day.

I'm leaving for San Diego today so the next update will come from there. Later,



Andrew


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



7th November 2012

Good Luck
Good luck to you young man. You will have a lot of fun and learn alot about that motorcycle on this trip. A Trip of a lifetime. Check your oil and every gas stop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8th November 2012

Miss you Andrew
It was good to hear that you arrived safely in San Francisco. This trip is a real learning experience in many ways. I enjoyed having you with me while you were in Vancouver. Love and blessings, Grandma

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb