Soo much walking!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
September 7th 2012
Published: September 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I decided i would wonder around the city and go to Golden Gate Park. I finished packing, left my bags at reception, ate breakfast at Lori's and then got a bus from Market Street to Alamo Square. From here I wondered through the square and down to Haight Street which is where the hippy revolution started! The houses around here are great forms of architecture and beautifully painted, some are called the painted ladies for their beauty. From here I wondered to Golden Gate park and spent the next 2 hrs wondering lonely as a cloud down towards the coast. This is a huge park with a many gardens and areas of green space including a small island in the middle of a lake. Overall I walked around 2 miles until I reached the beach, which wasnt too impressive in the end so probably not worth the pain on my feet!

I then had the issue of finding a way back to Pier 39 so I could so some more sightseeing. I was also bursting for the toilet and couldnt find one anywhere. Luckily as I went along Balboa I found a small movie theatre and the owner allowed me to use the bathroom, bless you sir! I also found a bus route and by 4.30pm I was at Fisherman's Wharf and sitting down to eat at Bubba Gump Shrimp Co restaurant, based around Forrest Gump! The waitress was very friendly any advised me on my dinner of chowder and an assortment shrimp cooked in the ways Bubba described! I was very full but had some dessert as I wouldnt be getting any food on my red eye flight to DC. I then did a bit of shopping before finding a bus that would take me up the Telegraph Hill so I could go up Coit Tower. The views from up here were spectacular and you could see the whole of the bay area. The sun was setting so the view out towards the Golden Gate Bridge was awesome! It really is a beautiful city!

I managed to find my way down but catching a tram at 7pm proved harder than expected and two drove past rammed before one stopped for me. I then got back to the hotel lobby at 8pm so had to wait a bit for my 9pm shuttle. The receptionist was very kind and offered to let me sleep as he saw how tired I was. When my shuttle arrived the door staff loaded my luggage for me, the Larkspur Hotel is great, and then I was off! I checked in and had some soup as a snack before boarding my 11pm flight and getting some sleep which was very much needed!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb