Returning to my second home!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Maryland » Silver Spring
September 8th 2012
Published: September 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I landed at 7.30am and grabbed a super shuttle to take me to where my Dad's cousin Matt lives with his family. This time I barely had to wait as it was an internal flight so no immigration and the shuttles were better organised at Dulles than LA!

By 8.30am I was crossing the threshold into what i like to call my second home, after the month I spent here working with Matt in 2010. Matt and Lora were up (as they had been to the gym already!), Drake was at american football practice and my 20 month old god son Wesley was running around as usual! It was great to see them all! Whilst Matt went to a class, Lora, Wessers and I went to grab a starbucks and a snack, we would be going for brunch once Drake finished practice. Whilst out I had one lady think that Lora was my wife and another think I was Wesley's father. I obvioulsy look older and Lora must look young!

We drove to Drake's school and waited for him to finish. However as they had had a game the previous night they were being debriefed and watching game film, only in America!! We took Wesley for a run around the athletics track which he loved. I also picked him up and ran across the goal line before throwing him in the air a few times, he seemed to enjoy it!

After an hour we decided to head home and pick up Matt but as we arrived at the house I heard the sound of a voice coming from Lora's bag. It was her ringtone for Drake, which had his voice saying "Mom pick up! I might be dying!", so we headed back to the school before going over to the pancake house for brunch. Matt met us there and we had a huge meal of pancakes! I was very full and tired afterwards but wanted to make the most of the time with them so manned up!

Afterwards Drake, Wesley and I went with Matt to help clean his very messy mini-van, whilst Lora went home for a nap. It was a very hot afternoon so I took Wesley into a diner to get a drink and sit down for a bit. This was definitely another example of people thinking he was my son! We sat in a booth and I tried to keep him entertained by giving him some sugar packets and allowing him to suck on a lemon, which made him full a funny face! However Weswers likes to rock his head back and forth and eventually whacked his head on the back of the booth, bitting his tongue. This set him off crying and I had to work very hard to bring him back to normal. I let him run around a bit before going back to the car to help out a bit. Here Wesley decided to sit in the front seat and play with the buttons and levers in the car, at one point causing the boot to close on me! Him sitting in the front of the car reminded me of when I used to sit in the front of my Dad's van whilst he cleaned it every weekend!

Tonight was supposed to be Matt and Lora's date night so the nanny came and looked after Wesley and me and Drake went to the cinema. We watched The Campaign which was awesome and very funny! Afterwards we were supposed to meet Lora and Matt for dinner but Lora wasnt very well so it was just the three of us. We went to a wine bar that serves food and I had some amazing fish tacos!

That evening I chilled out and got an early night after my journey and lack of sleep!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb