Day 14: San Francisco


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
January 10th 2012
Published: January 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today was a nice sunny day so I decided to head out on another walk. First off, I took the bus to Alamo Square Park, famous for having the "Painted Ladies" situated opposite. For those who dont know, the Painted Ladies are the famous townhouses, all in a row that are painted different colours. They appear in the opening credits for Full House.

From there I walked down to the Haight and Ashbury district. This is a stretch of about four blocks where no one has really moved on from the 60's and 70's. There are shops selling t-shirts (tie dyed of course), records and even marijuana memorabilia. There are also a bunch fo book stores and cafe's. Towards the end of the street, there were also a whole bunch of people selling weed, and probably other drugs too if you asked. I'm not sure why it isnt policed here, but apparently is many states of America, marijuana is legallised anyway, as long as you have a prescription.

This brought me right to the start of Golden Gate Park. It is HUGE!!! It stretches bor blocks and even has its own roads. I wandered through here until I found the California Academy of Sciences. I wasn't really planning on coming here, but I thought that while I was there I may as well check it out. It was pretty great, so I'm glad I stopped. There were exhibits on sustainability, evolustion, and they even had an aquarium and a rainforrest inside. My favourite part was the Planetarium though, where I saw a show on the Big Bang (not the tv show, the historical event). It was really cool, although I wouldnt recommend it if you get motion sick easily.

By this stage it was 3pm so I decided to head back to the hostel. I needed to do some washing and some sewing. Yep, sewing. My jeans pocket developed a hole in it, so I needed to fix that up. Tonight I am meeting up with Bec and Sarah, friends from home. We overlap here for one night so we decided a while ago to make a good night of it.

Tomorrow I head to LA where I begin my tour on the 12th, but before that, I plan to do Universal Studios, and I also have tickets to an Anaheim Ducks game.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb