Day 13: San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: January 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Before I start today, let me fill you in on last night's party. One of the girls that was working here was leaving (that's the story I heard anyway), so the hostel was providing free beer and wine (none of it even remotely good). Anyway I ended up meeting a bunch of people, drinking and playing foosball and pool until 3am. I didnt even realise how late it had got, then I realised I had been awake for almost 24 hours, so I called it a night.

This morning I woke up around 10.30, I thought I would be a little worse for wear but I pulled up ok. Today I was just going to explore a bit of San Francisco, then I had my Alcatraz night tour. I decided to take the bus down to Golden Gate Bridge. After about 25 minutes I arrived, and what a sight it was. It really is spectacular. I walked half way across then walked back, and decided that with time on my hands, I'd walk down to the piers since it was a nice day. According to the map on my phone, it didn't look too far. WRONG!!!! It took me 2 hours to get down to the pier district. It didnt leave me much time for lunch so I went to this little diner called "Johnny Rocket's". It was really cool, all the staff were dressed up in 50's style uniforms and they played old blues music.

Next was Alcatraz. The ferry ride took about 10 minutes, but it provided some lovely sunset views across the bay. Upon arrival at Alcatraz, a guide took us up to the cell block, stopping a couple of times to show us some stuff. Fomr there we were given an audio tour and were allowed to wander aorund at our own pace. We saw the cells, solitary confinement, the library, exercise yard and the command room. They also showed us the wall space used in the escape. For me though, the most creepy part of the tour was the hospital. It was pitch black in some parts, only lit occasionally by a lantern. It was pretty spooky, especially the operating theatre.

From outside the prision, there were some amazing views of downtown, and given tonight's full moon, there was also really nice moon shimmer across the bay.

All in all it was
Golden Gate BridgeGolden Gate BridgeGolden Gate Bridge

This was about 2/3 along my walk
a really good (but exhausting) day. Tomorrow I plan on going to Alamo Square Park, Golden Gate Park and Lombard St. I don't know if I'll fit it all in but I'm gonna try!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Golden Gate BridgeGolden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge

From the cruise.


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb