Day 11: Seattle - San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: January 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The morning today was taken up with me leaving and heading to San Fran. It was sad to see the back of Seattle, but San Fran was one of the destinations I was looking forward to most of all.

After arriving, One thing I noticed was all of the hills. You see hills in the movies, but you just assume its one little bit. How wrong I was. The whole city is littered with massive hills that make it so hard to get around. I decided to head down to the ferry building and check out the shore and the piers. Usually I would walk the distance but not on these hills. I ended up taking the cable car. Expensive, but very fun. I did the cliche "hang off the side" trip. I figured if I was doing the cable cars I'd do them properly.

The ferry building, fisherman's wharf and the piers (especially pier 39) were all very touristy. Glad I saw them, but wouldnt rush back in a hurry. One cool thing I did manage to see was the Musee Mechanique, which was a museum/arcade that had acrade games dating back to the 1800's. It was pretty cool, I played a game in there and left. It took me ages to get back home. I tried to get on a different cable car line, but it took me about 20 mins to find it. One thing I noticed about San Fran is the streets arent very well lit. It gives off the impression you are in a bad neighbourhood, even when you are on the main street.

Anyway I eventually made it back home, had some dinner then headed to karaoke night at the hostel. No I didnt sing, but I met a bunch of people there that seem pretty nice. We all had a few beers and just sat in the crowd and sung along without actually getting up and singing.

Tomorrow I have a 6.am start for my day trip to Yosemite Park. Its already way too late so I'm gonna cut this a bit short and have plenty for tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb