Day 10: Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
January 6th 2012
Published: January 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My final day in Seattle, and one to remember, but not for the right reasons...

Over the past couple of days I had noticed a bit of pain in the big toe on my right foot. During the night I woke in pain and struggled to sleep the rest of the night. When I got up in the moning the pain was so bad I couldn't put shoes on, and I struggled to get thongs to stay on my foot. I ended up asking the front desk to call me a cab to go to a local clinic that accepts walk up clients. The clinic was so helpful. Even though I didnt have medical insurance (well, American insurance anyway), they accepted my visit without question, and even gave me all the paperwork to claim on insurance back home. They sent me to the local pharmacy with a veritable shopping list of medicine, and then I eventually made my way home. After getting some medicine into me, I did some washing while waiting for the medicine to kick in. Once it did, I was actually able to do some stuff, although it was late in the afternoon so it didnt really leave me much time to do stuff, so I ended up going to the Columbia Center, which is the tallest building in Seattle. This is often overlooked in favour of the more highly publicised (and touristy) Space Needle, but I'd highly recommend this. For only $5 (or $3 as a student) you get a great view of downtown, as well as Seattle Center (which is where the Space Needle is located) and Puget Sound.

After this I went down to the 40th floor (observation deck is the 73rd floor) to check out Starbucks. I know it's lame but seeing as though I couldn't go to the original Starbucks (it was closed for renovation) I figured I'd go to this one. I had a frappicino, and it wasn't too bad, but it had so much sugar I dont really know whether the coffee flavour was good or not.

For dinner I caved and bought microwave Mac n Cheese. After the day I had, and with the effects of the medicine really kicking in now, I really couldnt be bothered doing anything for dinner, but I needed something to have with the next dose. After dinner the hostel put of a comedy night where a bunch of comedians from Seattle came in and did about a 10 minute skit each. The comedians were a mixed bag, some were good, most werent. The bad ones were still enjoyable though, as watching them being noticeably uncomfortable was funny in itself.

Heading off to sunny(er) San Fran tomorrow. I will miss Seattle, of all places I've visited during my travels, it is the city that most reminds me of home. Bad weather, good coffee and good bars.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb