Traveling by ferry to San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: April 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Golden Gate BridgeGolden Gate BridgeGolden Gate Bridge

Golden beauty
Last week I had the pleasure of traveling by way of ferry to San Francisco. It's one of my favorite ways to enter this fine city. After a 45 minute drive from Sebastopol, I parked my car in the Larkspur ferry lot. From there, I purchased a roundtrip, 16 dollar ticket and boarded the most pleasant form of transportation to one of the most striking cities in the world. In under 35 minutes, I am transported to a place with European flair and California cool. It's a visual feast in this city by the bay. I love pulling into the harbor and the first thing that you see is the historic Ferry Building clock tower, dating back to 1898. It has withstood the test of time, surviving the devastation of the great 1906 earthquake. Upon entering the building, you are greeted with the scent of richly roasted coffee and the bustle of commerce. There are purveyors of quality meats, cheeses, chocolates, olive oils and wines. If you're feeling adventurous, you can even purchase your very own tasty, salty pig parts! Usually I opt for a Chai tea instead, to warm my bones and give me the boost I need to walk the many steep hills that San Francisco is so well known for. There are numerous neighborhoods both diverse and rich in history. On this trip, I spent most of my time in the South of Market, Union Square and Castro districts. All of which I enjoy, but this time I think the Castro was the most flavorful! It's the gay mecca of California and so much fun to hang out in and people watch. Rainbow flags adorn the sidewalks and all the shop displays are sporting some kind of rainbow paraphernalia too. This multicolored city always leaves me wanting to come back for more!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Rainbow hosesRainbow hoses
Rainbow hoses

Only in the Castro!
Ferry BuildingFerry Building
Ferry Building

Clock Tower


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1073s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb