Happy Accidents


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
October 12th 2009
Published: October 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This is my last day in the United States and I thought it appropriate to introduce you to my philosophy for this journey before I actually embark upon it. I have contemplated this trip for a while, and to me the approach my travel buddy Lauren and I are taking seems to be just right; particularly in dealing with traveling in a place like India. I'm going to call this approach, the "Happy Accidents" approach. "Happy accidents" in this context is in reference to one of my favorite musicians, Neko Case. It's a term she uses to describe one of the underlying elements of her music-making method. She does not describe her unique songwriting process as organized or as having a clear result in mind. One word she often uses is "collage". To me, through her music, lyrics, and much of what underlies her process, it becomes obvious that despite a clear end result, thought, heart, knowledge, and life experience go into every aspect of her work. In the end though, she often attributes the very best parts of her work to the "happy accidents" that occur throughout the process. She says the "happy accidents happen all the time they're the ones that come about while you're playing." They are those elements that turn out to be more rich and wonderful than anyone could have possibly planned or strategized for.

As my departure nears, I have decided that her music-making process is a great analogy for this trip. I have put in the thought, I've gathered knowledge, and I'll definitely be using life experience and a lot of heart on this journey. However, I have no set itinerary and no clear end result for which I am aiming. This journey will be a collage of many experiences, people, sights, sounds, smells, and hopefully, plenty of happy accidents along the way.

Advertisement



21st October 2009

On your journey
Sounds like a lovely plan. Well-said. Love you! Your Mama
22nd October 2009

AWESOME!!
Anna! I LOVE this post. You are going to have such an incredible time! Actually, you're already there and I'm just catching up, so I know you ARE having such an incredible time! Eugene has a big bleak spot in it without you and that life partner of yours, but I wouldn't wish you back here for anything! I am so excited to read all about everything. I wish I had a secret camera on you two 24 hours a day. Well, maybe not in the pit toilets....but, eveything else! I've already been thinking of you guys all the time and am just wound up excited to keep reading your blog! Ok! LOVE and JOY!
12th November 2009

Great analogy Anna. You began your trip with such humble ambitions. Happy accidents happen all the time...even when future floor mates steal your seat on airplanes only to become great friends and travel buddies later :)

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb