A Quick Catch Up


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
October 20th 2009
Published: October 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today marks the sixth day I have been in India. If I were to gauge my comfort level, I would say that I have been here much longer. To me, that is the most bizarre part of everything so far: this place doesn't feel as foreign to me as I thought it would; I feel comfortable here. Six days and two cities really isn't a perfect gauge for the whole country, but even amongst scams, beggars, pollution and squat toilets sans toilet paper, I feel like I am a part of the ebb and flow of India. I could easily have written exorbitantly long entries for every day I have been here, but I'm going to keep these as short and sweet as possible. In these six days I have visited two cities: Kolkata and Puri.

Kolkata is so fantastically overwhelming. After over 24 hours of traveling, getting out of the airport and immediately arguing with a cab driver is one way to semi-wake up. One other way is to actually get in the cab and take a ride through the city at rush hour. This is an element of the India experience that is not to be missed as those of you who have been here can attest. In Kolkata, Lauren and I met up with a great group of fellow backpackers with whom we putts-ed around the city. Victoria Memorial, Howrah Bridge, Mother Theresa's Mother House, and the Malik Ghat Flower Market are a few of the most popular sites we saw while we were there. All were very cool to see but I think the richest experience of the this city comes simply from walking around it. I took few pictures in this city because there is so much going on that it's difficult to stop on the sidewalk and get your camera out, let alone settle on a few things to photograph once it's out. We arrived just days before one of the largest Hindu celebrations, Diwali. It's somewhat equivalent to Christmas in scale. In other words, this city of about 12 million people was particularly active and perhaps even more jam-packed than usual. I loved Kolkata for a reason I couldn't quite pinpoint while I was there. There is such great energy, such rich history, such a sense of identity. It wasn't anything I saw, smelled, or touched but it was very present in every place in the city I ventured.

After three days in Kolkata, Lauren, our new travel buddy Paul (of Liverpool, UK) and I headed down to the beach town and fisher village of Puri. What a stark contrast to the high energy and diesel fumes of Kolkata. We arrived at around 7 am after spending the night on a sleeper train, piled into an auto rickshaw and sped down a bumpy dirt road until we reached a little guest house a French man we met on the train recommended to us. We got the room on the roof, with a large deck area and a perfect view of the Bay of Bengal. The room was the highest priced in the house at about $5.00 a night. Things in Puri move at a much slower pace than Kolkata. Going out to eat meals in Puri took hours of our day. Each experience was so rich though, neither of us would have traded those hours. This town was particularly full for the holiday as well. It's home to the Jagganath Temple, which is significant in the Diwali celebration. It is a major pilgrimage site as well. Because of this, there were a lot of Indian families from all over the country in this small spot. During our last breakfast in town, we met a group of four families who had traveled down from the Darjeeling area to be at the Jagganath for Diwali. Long story short, we had many long conversations, translated by the owner of the restaurant and they took about a whole roll of film's worth of pictures with the three of us.

All in all, things so far have been absolutely wonderful. India is without question, like no other place I have ever been. I'm still so excited to be here and already the happy accidents approach has proven to produce some awesome, totally unplanned results. Next stop: Darjeeling.

Advertisement



20th October 2009

anna!
anna, i'm reading your entires and following your journey!! you sound like you're having so much fun and im so happy!!! love you and cant wait to see you when you're back
20th October 2009

hey
enjoy and plz keep the blogs going interesting :)
20th October 2009

HI!!!
Sounds super cool!! I'm so glad things are looking good and that you are enjoying the experience so far. And, obviously, I miss you!
21st October 2009

Wow!
Sounds like you having an awesome and maybe even life changing time! Looking forward to and your friend coming to Australia and sharing all these stories with me! Xoxo Leana
21st October 2009

Wonder-full! Sounds amazing. Can't wait to hear more! Mama
21st October 2009

that sounds amazing! i'm really happy about your 'happy accident' approach - those unexpected incidents are always the most interesting... i listened to that singer Neka Case, it was veryt nice really brightened up my day. you should give Fat Freddys Drop a listen i think you'd really enjoy them. anyway take care of your self and keep on adventuring!
22nd October 2009

AGGGGG SO AWESOME!!
Anna!! I'm sorry to comment twice in 5 minutes, but I am so so so so happy and excited for you guys! I love it! And a UK buddy! Of course! Hooray Hooray Hooray!
23rd October 2009

Hi Anna! I'm thrilled for you and your happy accidents! Those little things have a way of putting you where you need to be. Thanks for including me on your blog. Can't wait to read more. Lynn
30th October 2009

Dear.dear Anna--and we were concerned that it would be too much for you!!!! You are a perfect example of someone reado to go for life in a big way. Keep up the news for the rest of us.G'ma Deana
4th November 2009

:)
Really happy for you Anna. Your words have pushed through the electron beam and have put a smile on my face! You go girl!
5th November 2009

Nice Pics
Wow, spectacular shots. Can't wait to hear your "rest of the story". I have had many request from people at EHS for you to give your camera to others more often so they can get a larger dose of Anna! Love you..keep on trekkin'

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb