Here We Go!


Advertisement
Published: September 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

If you want the kids and youth version of my story, go to http://gringoduck.blogspot.com - thanks.

Well, that was an "interesting" start to what promises to be a challinging experience. I went into Regina from esterhazy, no problem. My girls came down from saskatoon to see me off in spite of the bad weather forecast. Yesterday I was awake at 5:45 AM (not excited at all of course!) After a hearty breakfast with realtives, we decided to check on the plane and found the flight had been cancelled! OK, no panic. I called AirCanada and they said no planes are flying into Regina on account of weather. I could try another carrier (Westjet), or they would take me to Vancouver after supper and on to San Francisco at 9AM today. I accepted the latter offer reluctantly because I figured it would be expensive to book short notice with Westjet even if they were flying and had a seat. Than meant my Calgary=San Francisco seat was gone. I then found Westjet, found there was a seat at noon to Calcary for $220, and took it. Then I tried to get my San Francosco seat back! After being transferred and put on hold several times, they said that plane was full so I had to take a 19:20 flight instead of the 16:30 one I originally had. OK, I can live with that. But we were in Calgary by 12:30 MST, which meant I spent 7 hours in the Calgary airport - too long! Then on top of that the plane was late leaving, and firther delayed when a passenger whose luggage had been taken on didn't show and they had to remove it. We finally left at 8PM and it was about 10 when we arrived here. When my baggage arrived I found that a wheel was missing off my new suitcase, but I didn't want to bother with that last night so dragged it around scraping all the way! I took a "door to door" van as it was so late and I didn't want to try using the subway "BART" and then walking 15 minutes in the dark late at night to get to my hostel.

The hostel is quite old of course, and the check-in is on the second floor. When I got up there, they told me my provate room was in a separate building about 1 1/2 bnlocks away -= an old house as it turns out with about 5 rented rooms and a kitchen, two bathrooms, etc. - there's a balcony at the back with a partial view of a bridge I think is the golden gate.

I was awoken this morning with the sound of sea gulls crying at 8:15 CST or 6:1'5 PST. I went to use the bathroon and saw the door was ajar and no light on in there, but I could ehar water running - sounded like the shower. I hesitantly opened the door a bit and saw the bath mat was in front of it, so naturally I didn't go in. I forgot that last night when I was showering the light went out - its on a timer or senser of some sort. It might have been exciting if I had gone in because when I was on the balcony beside it taking pics a few minites later I saw a young woman's arm opening the window! I met her later but we didn't discuss my unexpected visit to her bath - the shower is a large corner one with clear glass on three sides!

Sio now I am next to the kitchen using the free internet connection and smelling toast - why didn't I think to get some bread or juice or something last night? I guess because there was no opportunity after I left Regina - well, I could ahve got a bagel at Tim Horton's in the Calgary airport - but since I had my bags with me all day even that would have been awkward. - dare not elave them sit by themselves, and the only storage area would ahve cost me another $10 for two bags. But no problem, I want to go exploring right away so will take my luggage back to the main building for safekeeping (checkout is at 11 AM) until this afternoon. Have my city map in my pocket, my camera around my neck, and my feet aren't sore - yet! San Francisco, here we come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb