A Family to Stay With


Advertisement
Published: February 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Exciting news today: I received a message from the school I will be studying at, and now know who I am staying with. The name of the mother (don't know if there is a father there) is Martha Nimatuj, and there are four kids: boys 15, 13 & 10, and a girl who is 2 years old. They live at 9 Calle 5-34, Zona 1, Xela. "Calle" is Spanish for "street".

I also learned that there is a b&b who offer a transfer service from the airport to the bus depot for a very reasonable price, so I will probably use them for that purpose, and stay there on my way home because I have a plane leaving at 7:30 in the morning. "Dos Lunas" has a webpage on the Xelapages website. They also help people get flights and tours to Tikal, which is something I want to do. Tikal is a well-known site of Mayan pyramids in the north-east of the country.

It's time to get all my documentation organized, buy my travellers cheques, and find small gifts for my host family now that I know the ages and sex of the kids. They say soaps and shampoos are always welcome, but if you have a more exciting suggestion email me!


Advertisement



3rd March 2006

I'll be following your adventure.
Good luck in your travels. This method of communication is new to me and I am very interested in learning more. My family is off to Banff to ski for a few days. Our daughter is living there for the winter. Bye for now - Elaine
12th March 2006

I have just had a chance to log onto your site and am reading the information with interest. Have been skiing in Fernie with daughter, who assisted my education by sampling the local emergency health care system on our last day there. She is doing well (just a sore shoulder and a neck sprain) and her mother is also recovering also.Take care Fryor.

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0928s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb