A home stay


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
February 7th 2008
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow, what a whirlwind couple of weeks at home back in San Francisco!
Saw friends and family and have been gearing up for my next two months of travel.
One very notable thing that happened since I have been home is that Jamie and I got engaged! We went to the top of the Golden Gate Bridge on his birthday for what I thought was just a cool thing to do on ones birthday. While up there, Jamie proposed! It was so magical with the City looking so beautiful and crisp and I was completely surprised. Then, to top it off, Jamie threw a surprise engagement party the weekend after. Whew! Much thanks to Lauren, Meredith and Will for hosting the party and doing so much to make it happen and to Jake and Anthea for working like mules to pull it all together. And of course, thanks to my darling Jamie for proposing in such a romantic way and throwing the best party and making me feel so special.
I know this is my travel blog, but I sort of feel like this stop home has been a part of my travels. A stop along the way. It has been so nice to refresh and catch up with everyone.
So, off again to South America. I leave on Monday and fly into Buenos Aires. From there I will probably head up to Bolivia by bus. Don't have much of an agenda for round two except to not have an agenda. Until the next blog.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The ElevatorThe Elevator
The Elevator

To get up to the north tower, you have to go into this super old teeny tiny elevator that takes about five minutes to get to the top.
Golden Gate Bridge, North TowerGolden Gate Bridge, North Tower
Golden Gate Bridge, North Tower

Looking on to San Francsico
pretty freakypretty freaky
pretty freaky

This is the ledge that Jamie proposed on.
Golden Gate Bridge, North TowerGolden Gate Bridge, North Tower
Golden Gate Bridge, North Tower

It's a long long way down.
One of the cablesOne of the cables
One of the cables

Jamie took this awesome shot.
Jamie in the portholeJamie in the porthole
Jamie in the porthole

This is the little porthole that we popped out of to see the view from the tower.
240 4th Avenue240 4th Avenue
240 4th Avenue

Shot taken by Anthea at their house the night we got engaged.
Charles DogsCharles Dogs
Charles Dogs

Had to put this on in there. This shot was taken right before I came back to the US. Angelo took Stacey and I to his favorite hot dog place in Brazil called "Charles Dog". The Charles Dog is comprised of two hot dogs, ketchup, mayo, salsa, mustard, fried potato straw things and then smothered in mashed potatoes. Pretty good, but extremely messy!


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb