Heading from North to South soon...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
November 5th 2007
Published: November 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My trip to S.F. is almost at an end, only 2 more days in this lovely city !!!

It has been fantastic weather, summer warm most days. Great to just take each day as it comes and explore a new part of the city (have been here before, so no need to do all touristic things this time). I have staid with Sima (from Amsterdam) in the Mission (feels like I'm in South America already), she moved here 3 years ago for her work.

We have had nice dinners as well as relaxing DVD nights at home, and I have tried out her Yoga studio a few times. First week I met up with Pierce, Wes & Wendy (who all lived in Amsterdam last year - I can't understand why they all wanted to go back to S.F. again... !! What is wrong with a bit of rain ?).

During that week I also had to find something to wear to the upcoming Halloween party, so went for the easy option: pirate ! On Saturday we took Sima's car to Muir woods and went for a 2 hour hike in the national park. Then back into town to get changed for the party. Fun to see all creative costumes ! What I wasn't used to was the bar policy to not serve alcohol after 01.30..... hmmmm..... Probably good for me though.... On Sunday we went with some Dutch friends of Sima to Berkeleys University to a lecture regarding Dutch immigrants (coincidence), nice to see a new side of the city. Funny to speak Dutch here (yes, am lazy and I speak English with Sima).

In the second week I met up with Diane that I met in Tarifa in September (Rick's mother). We went for a nice lunch after she showed me around Pacific Heights and then out to De Young museum.

Tuesday evening we sat at home watching a DVD when the sofa and the room starting to tremble - an earthquake !!! Felt like a train was running under the house. It was an interesting minute...... in the newspaper next day I say it was a 5.6 magnitude quake a bit south east of the city, so not one of the small ones that happen more or less every day.

Pierce & I had a great Halloween day (Wednesday) in the wine area
Dolores MissionDolores MissionDolores Mission

Oldest house in S.F.
in Sonoma. We went to 4 different wineries, one of them a small place owned by an Australian guy (you can tell which one by the pictures) and I'm happy I wasn't the one driving back to town afterwards 😊)) In the evening dinner in town, then to Sima's neighbour for a quick drink (all in costume !). Normally there is a big street party in the Castro this day, but last year there were some shootings and the police shut it off this year. Not all happy people like Queens day in Amsterdam then...

Thursday I met up with Laura who was also on tour with Cirque du Soleil the same time as me. We visited Greg's house (Laura currently works with him on different events and projects) and his house was something else ! Each room was decorated in an amazing way and in the attic he had created a "circle of life" experience in a labyrint of small rooms. Well, you had to be there... (there are tours made in his house and TV has also been there, so I wasn't the first one to take pictures). That evening I also met up with David (another ex-colleague, this time from Dockers) and Louise. They met while David worked for Levi's in South Africa, and got married this year 😊 So funny how so many friends have ended up in this city !!!

This weekend Sima and I headed north but didn't get as far as expected - as the weather was so great we decided to lay on the beach for a while before driving on. Staid in a nice place before heading on winding roads inlands and back to S.F. today.

So that is it for this time. Next week Monday (the 12th) I'm starting my Spanish lessons in Quito. Will do 1 week in Quito, 1 week in the jungle and then back for the last week of lessons in Quito again. Rescheduled the jungle week since Patrick (from NL) will be passing through Quito on his way to Colombia, it is a small world !!!!

(For those of you on Facebook I'll upload some more pictures there...)


Big hug to you all









Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

St Mary's CathedralSt Mary's Cathedral
St Mary's Cathedral

built in the 70s
With Pierce, Wendy & WesWith Pierce, Wendy & Wes
With Pierce, Wendy & Wes

having sushi dinner at Ace Wasabi


6th November 2007

Great goin ' !!!!
G'day there ! Just come out of the "race that stops teh nation", horse racing. Looks like you're easing into it. Have fun with S America, the culture shock is not as great as they tell you, it will be fun !!! Ciao Rene

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb