Alcatraz and Sherpa Bolta Tour


Advertisement
Published: July 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

July 23, 2007
Let’s just say that yesterday was the dress rehearsal and it went poorly, except for dinner with the Chandlers. Today and hopefully the rest of the trip was the real deal. Mark and I didn’t sleep too well last night as we were both waiting for 8am so we could call or hear from the taxi company. Luckily for us, our cab driver was pretty decent and returned our suitcase to us. (I take back most of the things I said about him, he still way over charged us) We now have our camera, our itinerary, our emergency numbers (credit card cancel, insurance, ect. …) and plane tickets back to us. Thank god. It could have been a huge mess.
We started off the day with a tour to Alcatraz with Aly, Andy and Grace. It was an interesting Island that smelt like bird poop. We all took our turns in a jail cell, even baby bear. (see pics).
When we got off the boat, Mark and I meet up with my cousins Nancy and Chris, Our Sherpa. We took the “Sherpa Bolta tequila tour” and had a great time. Our first stop was Baker Beach were
AlcatrazAlcatrazAlcatraz

This is the prison breakfast in 1963. It looks like what we will be eating for breakfast for our trip. hmmm...
we got some great pics of the Golden Gate Bridge. We took a quick drive under the bridge and headed off for our second destination, Trader Sam’s. Trader Sam’s is a little bar that has been around for a long time and is decorated like an old Hawaiian tiki bar. We all had a nice strong drink and we were off to the Cliff House for appetizers. The cliff house is a restaurant right on the water overlooking Seal rock. We had some great apps, a drink and we were on our way. We made our next stop at Haight st. Haight St. is where a lot of the free love hippy generation lived, and some still do. It was fun to walk around, looking at the old t-shirt shops and jewelry stores. We then found an Irish Pub and had another drink (our goal is to find an Irish pub in everyplace we travel to). After the walking and drinking we decided it was time for dinner so we headed off to North Beach to have dinner at Hunan Restaurant. Let’s just say the food was great, and all the alcohol we had that day came out of our
AlcatrazAlcatrazAlcatraz

The Golden Gate Bridge is behind us. If you can see through the fog.
pores with all the SPICY food. (the shrimp was the best). After dinner Nancy and Chris dropped us off at the hotel where we went to bed with a full stomach and a head full of Sherpa Bolta’s words of wisdom/jokes. It was a great day and made up for our poor start to our trip.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

AlcatrazAlcatraz
Alcatraz

Bird and poop
Golden Gate BridgeGolden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge

From Bakers Beach
Golden Gate BridgeGolden Gate Bridge
Golden Gate Bridge

Nancy and Chris, my cousins/tour guides
The Cliff HouseThe Cliff House
The Cliff House

I have horrible tan lines, and I look like an Oompa Loopa. Sun Screen for me for the rest of our trip.
The Cliff HouseThe Cliff House
The Cliff House

Chris and Mark: The calm before the Tequilla. Picture by Nancy
AlcatrazAlcatraz
Alcatraz

Grace and Baby Bear in a cell
AlcatrazAlcatraz
Alcatraz

Emily Locking mark up...Do you think he could escape???


25th July 2007

YAY!
Oh I am so glad that you got the luggage back! I hope you will eventually have time to put the pictures up..they are so funny! I am becoming slightly addicted to checking my email for updates on the blog page. :) It is so good to see you guys are having so much fun! I think of you everyday! Love you both!
25th July 2007

wow! im amazed! you got a picture of nancy! whenever i try, i usually get yelled at or have somthing thrown at my head. :)
29th July 2007

Hello!!
Hi Em and Mark, I finally got a job!!! It sounds like you are having a great time. The pics are awesome. I love you and miss you both and I don't have any pics of my breasts so I am sorry I cannot send you any(and I might kill Kara for that comment). Have fun!!!

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb