Frequent Flyer Habits


Advertisement
Published: February 29th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Though I once considered myself a "frequent flyer", I would say that I am now a rather infrequent flyer. In other words, I don't have the same good habits that made flying easier for me. Everyone has hints for making flying easier, as does Travel & Leisure's most recent article.

Here are seven of their suggestions, along with some of my own:

Hire airport greeters-I have never done this before. It might be a good idea in a foreign country, particularly if you don't know the language, airport layout, and have severe time constraints and too much baggage.

Pack like pros-I am pretty good at this. I have travel specific clothing and sundries. I use a color theme, usually blue, sometimes black, and once in a while, brown. But as I get older, I tend to check my bag, whereas when I was younger, I always used a carry-on bag or garment bag. In fact, always invest in good luggage, you will save $ in the long run!

Know your airport-A very underrated tip. I generally choose SFO since I know the airport better than LAX. It never hurts to study an airport map for a foreign airport.

Know what you like on a plane-I tend to sit up front, aisle seat, and opt for more legroom if the flight is over two hours.

Sign up for Global Entry and TSA PreCheck-This is a no brainer, whether you travel often or not.

Triple check everything-A checklist is always a good idea. Now my checklist is a mental checklist.

Consider the season-I avoid holidays, and summer, when families and children travel. I do not mess with this rule!!!!

I would like to add:

All of your travel notes on one sheet of paper AND on your phone.

All cables and external cell phone battery (portable) pack.

Universal plugs (I always carry two), and extension cord.

Two jackets in your suitcase: 1) down jacket in a bag, and 2) wind/rain jacket in a bag, both by Uniqlo. They take up very little space, work great for layering, and staying hands free.

Extra Ziploc bags, dirty clothes bag, and a small gift bag.

Gum, mints, small snacks like nuts and dried fruit, energy bar, and empty water bottle.

Night light for bathroom.

Bedroom slippers (can double as shower slippers at the beach).

Cap, hat, and sunglasses.

Always sign up for the frequent flyer program.

Sometimes, the smallest things are the best!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb