15 Countries in One Year and 15 Reasons Why I'd Make the Best Employee


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
February 19th 2010
Published: February 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Welcome perspective employers to my travel blog. I know it's not as traditional as most PR blogs, but it's what I love and it's something I'm proud of. I recently returned from an one year trip around the world that spanned three continents. I think that this, along with my other qualifications set me apart from most job seekers out there.

During my year abroad I learned valuable lessons from each country I visited and I believe that my travel blog is a great window into the person I am and why I would make the best employee for your company. So here it goes... 15 countries in One Year and 15 Reasons Why I Would Make the Best Employee:

1. Japan: The Japanese have a huge level of respect for their culture and for their elders. I too carry this respect. For two and a half years, after graduating from college, I successfully managed a business here in San Diego. I believe you get respect by giving respect. I believe I was a great manager because I led by example. By working hard and always doing my best, I expected the same of my employees. This mutual respect transferred over into the business succeeding because everyone loved what they were doing and loved who they worked with. In a future position, I know that I have much to learn about the PR industry and have great respect for my "elders" who I hope to learn from everyday.

2. China: Busy, Busy, Busy with A LOT of people and things going on. China was crazy! But... I kind of like crazy. I enjoy being busy and would much rather work my tail off all day long than sit around bored. I know in PR things are constantly changing and there are often a million different things to do. I feel I am a great multi-tasker and can accomplish a lot in a small amount of time. I work well under pressure and can take the heat.

3. Vietnam: A different take on the familiar. We all know the stories of the Vietnam War, but my favorite part of Vietnam was learning the stories from a different perspective. "The American War," as they call it, is perceived totally different in Vietnam than it is here in America and that opinion changes depending on if you are in the north or the south of Vietnam. In public relations, there are always two sides to a story and it is always imperative that you find out all the sides so you can make an educated decision about your client or their campaign. My first hand account of the different sides to the same story, help me recognize this and to take all perspectives in on a daily basis.

4. Cambodia: Genocide and poverty. Now those are two words that do not seem synonymous with public relations, however, I believe learning about the atrocities in the world help to make anyone a better person. I saw first hand the people who were affected by the Khmer Rouge regime in Cambodia and despite of their huge losses and poverty, they are some of the happiest people around. This has taught me that when times get tough, there is always something worse and I need to keep a smile on my face. If the Cambodians can smile, I can smile!

5. Laos: Laos is an untapped land in many ways. You travel with the locals, you eat with the locals and in most cases they do not speak English. I do not speak Laotian. Traveling through Laos really helped with my non- verbal communication skills and made me realize how important these skills are in everyday life. We communicate so much through our body language, sounds, and gestures. Improving upon these and recognizing this is helpful in the business world.

6. Thailand: Most people have come to appreciate Thailand for its pristine beaches and I am no exception. The pure beauty of the white sand and teal water is amazing. You learn to appreciate what is simple and beautiful in life. This holds true in business as well. Stick to the basics and keep it simple and often you will get the best results. This is not to say creativity and flair are not appreciated, but going back to the basics is always a great place to start.

7. Malaysia: This country is a fusion between many things. Muslim and Christian, Traditional and Modern, Chinese and Indian. It's amazing how the fusion of so many different things works so perfectly in this place. Combining two things that work well together can often create great results. I recognize this and can put this to work in public relations.

8. Indonesia: The Hindu religion is strong on Bali, the only place I visited in Indonesia. Recognizing that the Hindu Balinese are very different from the Muslims that live other places in Indonesia was important to understanding who the Balinese were as people. Knowing your audience is always important in business and sometimes it is not as easy as it seems. I have learned to peel away the layers and find the real person behind the facade.

9. Australia: I love Australia because it is like Southern California with a twist. The beaches of Australia's east coast and their laid back vibe is so similar to us here in San Diego. It makes you appreciate your neighbors and those similar to yourself. Public relations is no exception. You need to use your neighbors and those in similar fields. It's all about networking. I have had two internships in San Diego, where I have met many different people in the public relations industry. Additionally, by managing a business, I met many other business owners and affluent San Diego families that I can call on in a variety of situations.

10. New Zealand: New Zealand is an amazing country, but it is not the cheapest country we traveled to. A little more than half-way through our trip, we reached New Zealand. Here, I learned to look at my budget, reevaluate it and decide wether or not to move on to our third continent. Budgeting is an important skill and by saving, planning and executing my year abroad I like to think I'm pretty great at it!

11. Argentina: I do not speak Spanish, I took French in high school and American Sign Language in college, but I always wanted to learn to speak Spanish. However, my first country in South America was quite a shock. I was ignorant and expected more people to speak English, but they didn't. Learning to improvise and adapt was a must when we first arrived in Argentina. All sorts of mishaps happened due to the language barrier, but I needed to learn to change and go with the flow. I know many times when you are planning an executing events, you come a long speed bumps and changes that you need to adapt to. Learning to adapt to my many speed bumps along the way helped me to learn not to panic and how to get things done under pressure.

12. Uruguay: We had a mishap in Uruguay. We were booked into a hostel and when we arrived they did not have our reservation (even though we had put a deposit down). They tried to accommodate us and kept moving my friends and I around to different rooms. Eventually, late in the night, we were told there was not room for us. I was usually a passive traveler, not wanting to cause a stink and be the loud American, but it is in times like this you learn that you have to stand up for yourself if you are being taken advantage of. I learned how to stand my ground and stick up for what I knew was right. In the end it all worked out and I learned the value of when to speak up.

13. Chile: We had so many long bus rides in Chile. Our longest bus ride was from Patagonia to the city of Bariloche. It was 27 hours. Before this trip, I did not have patience. Riding on a bus for 27 hours forces you to have patience. I am so happy to say, that although I am not perfect, my patience has greatly improved after a year of traveling.

14. Bolivia: Bolivia was a place for bargainers. There are many street markets where vendors sell everything from alpaca scarves to llama meat. Since Bolivia was one of the last countries on our trip, I decided to do some souvenir shopping and with it, improving my bargaining skills. You are not meant to pay full price at these markets. We learned this many times on our trip throughout Asia and now here in Bolivia, bargaining is a must! These markets helped me to improve my negotiation skills and to know when to walk away or buy. I also learned how to bargain in a respectful manner that is not offensive or hurtful, a skill I am proud of today.

15. Peru: Peru was our last stop on our year long adventure and our 3-day Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu was an amazing way to reflect. Pushing our limits on this 3-day, high-altitude hike, was like something I had never done before. Being rewarded with Machu Picchu, one of the seven wonders of the world, taught me that hard work always pays off. I know that this is such a cliche slogan, but it so often holds true. If you work hard, you will be rewarded. I am one of the hardest workers I know and honestly believe that my hard work can only result in positive results for my future employer.

Now that you all know a little about me, it's time to get down to business. I have posted my resume for you to view on the following link:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=MX6T1131

Also, here is a general cover letter about me explaining a little more:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=JWZ65DSA






Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb