A Year In Review...


Advertisement
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

"There are no foreign lands. It is the traveler only who is foreign.” - Robert Louis Stevenson

So many times over this past year we have felt this foreign feeling. Now, being home, broke and jobless... I take the time to reflect on these moments.


Number of Continents Visited: 3

Number of Countries Visited: 16 (In chronological order: Mexico, Japan, China (Tibet), Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Bolivia, Peru)

Number of Cities Visited: 81

Number of Flights Taken: 20

Number of Trains Taken: 7

Number of Boats Taken: 4

Number of Car Rides: 5

Number of Buses: Too many to count

Longest Bus Ride: 30 hours (El Calafate-Bariloche)

Worst Trip to Get to a Destination: 15 hrs from Luang Prabang to Thai Border, waiting for border to open, local bus to Chang Rai, local bus to Chang Mai

Number of Times Really Sick: 2

Car Accidents: 2 (Both in China- Taxi hit a bus then our bus hit a taxi)

Speeding Tickets: 1 (Great Ocean Road, Australia)

Number of Oceans Swam In: 3

Wonders of the World: 3 (Chichen Itza, Great Wall of China, Machu Picchu)

Disneylands: 1 (Tokyo)

Favorite Beer: Beer Lao Dark

Favorite Alcohol: Pisco Sours (def. not lao lao)

Number of typhoons avoided: 2

Number of times robbed: 0

Number of times ripped off: Probably a lot, although I'll say none

Favorite Food: Kung Pao Chicken in Beijing, Dumplings and Noodles in Chengdu, Parking lot food in Kuala Lumpur, Argentinean Steak

Best Wine: Argentina/Chile

Best Hosts: Bernie, Eddie, Matty

Favorite Guide: Lobsang (Tibet) with Erick (Inca Trail) a close second

Favorite Country: Cambodia with Vietnam and Laos coming in tied for second

Favorite Campground: Everest Base Camp with Phuyupatamarca on the Inca Trail number 2

Favorite Friends Met Along the Way: The Halong Bay Crew, Proper Chris, the Irish Crew, Matty's Aussie friends, Double D and friends, Fraser Island Tour Group

Best Group Trip: Halong Bay with Fraser Island second

Favorite Hostels: Beijing Downtown Backpackers, Sim's Cozy Guesthouse (Chengdu), Shuyuan Backpackers (Xi'an), Hanoi Backpackers, Milhouse Hostel (Buenos Aires), Wild Rover (La Paz), Bothy Hostel (Arequipa), America Del Sur (El Calafate)

Favorite Hotels: Ellie's (Bali), Tarsi Guesthouse (Nusa Lembongan)

Worst Place We Stayed: No name hotel (Bangkok), Chunking Mansion (Hong Kong)

Best Visitor from home: Megan, Rick and Lori Lundgren

Worst Drink: Yak Butter Tea (Tibet)

Worst Toilets: Tibet

Best Cultural Experience: Going to Lobsang's house in Tibet

Most Amazing Sights: Great Wall of China, Angkor Temples, Caves in Vang Vieng, Mt. Everest, Machu Picchu, Patagonian glaciers, Halong Bay, Mummies in Peru

Most Hookers: Phuket, Thailand (most of them lady boys)

Best Coffee: French Press at Ellie's in Bali

Nicest Locals: SE Asia (Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia)

Smelliest City: Shanghai

Most Polluted City: Beijing/ Shanghai

Drunkest Night: Xi'an Bar Street, Na Trang Vietnam, NYE in Sydney, Uncle Tan's in Borneo, Kuala Lumpur Clubs, Cusco with the Irish

Hottest Day; Hong Kong

Coldest Day: Perito Moreno Glacier with EBC sunrise second

Most Claustrophobic: Cu Chi Tunnels Saigon, Vietnam


Overall, this has been the best year of my life. So much work and so many years have gone into planning and saving money and sometimes I can't believe it's over. I look back on everything from the past year with so many fond memories and no regrets. I also come off this experience with a confidence I have never had before. If I can do this... I can do anything. We have had so many crazy moments over the past and so many hard times, but it was all worth it. Everything I have experienced has made me stronger and opened my eyes to a life beyond my American bubble. I have seen suffering, poverty, beautiful sights, history, rich palaces and met some amazing people. This past year has enriched my life in so many ways. I will never forget it and only hope that I can share my experiences with others and continue on my life's journey. I encourage everyone to get out there and travel. Go and see the world. Everyday our world is changing and some things may not be there in 20 years, so see them now. Travel has enhanced my life to the fullest. I have spent the past year with two of my favorite boys. I love them both so much and could not imagine having this experience without both of them. The "trio" shares a bond that will connect us for life.

Now, I must continue on my next journey. It's not easy being home and back to "reality." However, I know I will succeed and I can accomplish any goal. Sometimes I doubted that this trip would ever happen, but it did. Now... on to the next adventure!


Advertisement



25th August 2009

Krista, I have enjoyed your blog so much I can't believe it's over, either!! You still have the WA tour to do, and I assure you this is the best part of OZ:) You're welcome anytime. Good luck with your job hunt! Nina xxx PS: I totally agree with you on Chunking Mansion... it is the worst!
28th August 2009

I have to agree..
my favorite just might have been the blue glaciers and I had the largest panic attack at the fried starfish. And I think you might have had a couple more crashes (i.e. tut tuts (sp?) and moped crashes) but who's counting :o) Thank you for sharing in your adventures. Great way to close things out!

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb