A whale of a time


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
January 19th 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Originally, I had planned to take a trip to Tijuana in Mexico today, if I'm honest just to get my passport stamped. However, after news the night before of a 'gun rampage' in the town, I opted for the safer whale watching excursion instead.

I've done something similar before, and to be honest, it was better. The gray whales are protected, so we weren't allowed closer than 100 yards from them, meaning limited photo ops, and with my poor eyesight, limited whale sightings full stop. We did also see dolphins and sealions, which was an added bonus.

Foolishly, I had chosen to sit on the top deck to get a better view. This was great on the journey out in the early afternoon sunshine, but on the way back I was so cold I thought my teeth would fall out they were chattering so much.

Got back to the hotel and sat on my hands for half an hour until some feeling came back to them, then went to try and buy a ticket off a tout for the Ryan Adams show in town that night. Sadly no touts were around, though I did see Adams himself round the back of the venue with his missus. I thought about saying hello and begging for a ticket, but he's a moody bugger, so thought I'd leave him be.

After a traditional irish meal of pasta, chicken and peas (!) I settled for an early night, not feeling well after my arctic expedition earlier. I slept well until about 3 when I was awoken by someone outside shouting 'fuck' repeatedly. Peering out the window I saw a man laying in the bushes in the central reservation, with his trousers round his ankles. I thought about going to see if he was OK but was beaten to it by someone else, who got a volley of abuse for his trouble.

The guy in the bush kept trying and failing to stand up and in the end gave up on the idea and settled in for the night there. Until 2 of San Diego's finest police officers turned up, manhandled him into their patrol car and drove off into the night. A bit harsh I thought, I'm sure I've done similar things when I've been drunk.

Advertisement



21st January 2008

Ryan Adams
you should have gone up to him and told him how crap he is!

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb