Drinking in LA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
January 20th 2008
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well my plans to actually see the things I planned to see in LA kind of fell by the wayside, due to me being easily led us per usual. I arrived at my hostel in Hollywood in the mid afternoon, hoping to get some rest as I still hadn't recovered from Vegas. However, it became clear pretty soon that this wasn't going to happen - the hostel had stand up night on Sundays, and Chris, the kiwi guy in my room insisted we attend.

First though I went to get pizza at the place over the street. The waitress gave me a filthy look when I walked in and made me go get the menu off her instead of vice versa. Whilst me sub standard pizza was being prepared I was somewhat alarmed by the whooping and clapping coming from the kitchen area. On bringing out my order, the waitress explained that the previous night a co worker went crazy and smashed the kitchen up and they were watching it on CCTV. Okayyyy.

So to the 'comedy'. The compere, traditionally the funniest in any stand up show appeared on stage wasted after watching the Giants beat the Packers to get to the Superbowl (whatever that means). He made a few mildly sexist, mildly homophobic, mildy racist and totally unfunny remarks before introducing the rest of the comics who were less offensive but equally unfunny.

What did sweeten the night however were the bar prices. At a dollar a beer, there was something to smile about at least.

Advertisement



26th January 2008

Clearly
given the fact that the standard of your grammar and spelling is not up to its usual standards the $ a beer offer made quite an impression on you!

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb