DAY TWO IN SAN DIEGO - DECEMBER 4


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego » Coronado
December 31st 2012
Published: January 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

December 4



When I woke up I saw the beauty of my location. The name of the hotel, Holiday Inn on the Bay, was very accurate. Across the street was a cruise ship pier, the Maritime Museum, the USS Midway Museum, the Coronado ferry, dinner cruise boats and the beautiful views!



It was a beautiful day. I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. After breakfast, I walked outside and went to the Maritime Museum just across the street. The Star of India was the featured ship at the museum but there were many interesting ships on display. The Star of India, which is one of the oldest active sailing ships in the world, was my favorite, the Berkeley, a historic steam ferry, the Medea, a steam yacht, a Soviet submarine, the USS Dolphin, another submarine, and two replica ships; one the Californian (the ship that won the first America’s Cup and the HMS Surprise, a 24 gun British frigate. I also took a one hour bay cruise on the Harbor Pilot You can go onboard and explore these historic ships and artifacts.



Next I went to the USS Midway Museum . This aircraft carrier saw action in the Vietnam War . It was commissioned in 1945 and in 1965 pilots aboard the Midway shot down the first MIG-15 of the Vietnam War. In 1973, it became the first aircraft carrier ported in a foreign country : Yokosuka, Japan. In 1991, it was the flagship of the Persian Gulf air operations in Operation Desert Storm. It was decommissioned in 1992 and opened as a museum in San Diego in 2004. I took the self guided audio tour and had lunch on the Fantail café. I was on the ship for a little over 4 hours and I still couldn’t see everything. I did get through most areas of the ship and spent time on the flight deck. It was a great experience!



I decided to take the dinner cruise on the California spirit. Boarding time was 7:00 PM and the cruise went from 730 until 10:00 PM . The dinner was good and I met some nice people from Orlando that invited me to join them at their table.



After the cruise I went back to the hotel and enjoyed memories of a very good day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

THE USS MIDWAYTHE USS MIDWAY
THE USS MIDWAY

FANTAIL CAFE
USS MIDWAYUSS MIDWAY
USS MIDWAY

FLIGHT DECK


Tot: 0.396s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb