Nevada and Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Sacramento
September 28th 2009
Published: September 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Area 51 AccessArea 51 AccessArea 51 Access

Area 51 is on the other side of the mountains
Wild Horses

Here we are traveling across Nevada. It is about 9 AM when we turn on to the Extraterrestrial Highway which runs along the side of Area 51. I am unable to provide the route number per instructions when I turned on the highway. Yes this information is on a “need to know basis” and I am not sure you need to know. The highway entrance has multiple sets of retractable spikes (parking garage style) that are not retraced until the driver provides verbal confirmation to accept the rules of Area 51. All communications is controlled from another location and is video recorded. KC and I both had to exit the car and pledge our allegiance (who or what to was unknown). For fear of death to KC, I can not document the rules, but they generally are directing the driver and occupants to ignore what is seen and/or heard under penalty of (fill in the blank).

There are warnings I can tell you about:

Beware of low flying aircraft and other stuff
No gas for 150 miles
Open range - beware of cattle, horses, and other things on the highway
No stopping or slowing on the roadway except at crosswalks if occupied
Travel at your own risk

Please do not repeat what I am about to describe. A person dressed in black and wearing a ski mask drove around the spikes and the monitoring devices at high speed. The rider started up the highway crouching low on the cycle and increased their speed to well over 100 mph. I knew I could not catch them, but threw KC in the car and took up the chase. As the rider reached the horizon, rider, bike, and all disappeared. It was like they never existed. When we got to the area where I last saw the cycle, there were a series of wide (about 3 feet) metal water drainage grates. This seemed strange to me, since drainage devices are usually at the bottom of an incline and the likelihood of heavy rain in this area is remote. However, I did not stop or slow, but I did hear a computer generated voice proclaim rather loudly “Gotcha”.

I travelled this road because of an incident Betty and I experienced many years ago (at least 20). I detailed this in the dedication at a similar place along this
Dedication SIteDedication SIteDedication SIte

It was aplace similar to this where we encountered the Wild Horses
highway.

Betty. You hated driving across Nevada and we usually drove at night so you could sleep. However our returns to CA almost always occurred in the day. One of these days many years ago we took a different route - Extraterrestrial Highway. As boring as ever, but then we flashed through a thunderstorm cell and then off to the right as if ordained by the spirits a herd of wild horses appeared. They ran parallel to us trying to outrun the rain. The chances of seeing wild horse by chance are astronomical, but we rode next to them in full gallop with mane and tails flying in the wind for over a quarter of a mile. Alone except for us on the open range free and clear to do what horses do unshackled and unfenced - FREE. We marvelled not only at the thundering horses, but also our few moments to experience their freedom and to integrate those feelings into our spirit. You expressed this freedom as how we humans can learn that the freedom of the horses is an example of how we can function in the world. There are bad horses as there are bad people, but in some way they bring value to the herd or society. We must lean to tolerate them. So along this highway I dedicate a place to you and freedom, the two together always. And how this moment of freedom becomes a beacon for myself and for others who know there is no freedom unless all the souls of humankind make it happen and then spreading it on the winds of the horses.

So in Nevada we found value unexpected, but readily accepted. I relate it to the lines in “Of One Spirit”

That which is good
Is discovered by those
Who are looking
For nothing.

There is another line I might add “But open to everything”. This encapsulated how Betty and I lived in our life and in our relationship. Moments like the freedom we experienced with the wild horses became the essence of what each felt independent of the other, yet a cornerstone of our relationship. We saw our relationship in context of 3 entities - the you, the I, and the us. We found that none existed without the others and to take from the one to build on the other threw the relationship out balance creating friction. The friction disappeared when balance returned.

So is it with freedom. Not just of spirit. Not just of belief. Not just of discussion. Freedom and those values we hold dear must be practiced. Must be put in action. Must be caressed and nurtured like the caring, loving relationship Betty and I had. The relationship with our values or what is important to us is no different than one with another person. I look and listen to the “spiritual” person talk of values, what is “really important” to them and wonder is their relationship with these inner core values based on an unconditional love like one has with their child. If not, the spiritual growth will likely be slowed and ones evolution to a reach a higher plane and intimately know freedom will be stunted.

I am still in the process of evolving and it has been made more difficult as my growth partner is no longer with me. However, I will continue the journey. Betty and I will talk. Betty and I will plan. Betty and will I take action. The hope will be not that it is the correct action for with out action there is no growth and there is no learning. The hope will be to not slow or stop, but rather to persevere. Secure in the knowledge that we will reach our place, what and where ever it may be, when there is no more air available.

This Tribute Trip ended at 4:55 PM PDT as KC (glad to be back dog) and I pulled into the garage. Although the trip is over, the memories, feelings and experiences are still with me. I am a better person for making the trip and I discovered it was not a good-bye journey, but rather establishing and building a new kind of relationship. I now feel I successfully integrated Betty's spirit and soul with mine. We are still “Of One Spirit”.

Each fulfills each.
Solidifying the essence
Elevating and unveiling
Creating an atmosphere
Of trust
Of respect
Of caring.
Needs are gratified
Growth encourages growth
Each fulfills each.

The source of light is the soul
The intensity of light is the spirit
The essence of light is the self.
Death is physical
Memories are mental
Light is eternal.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb