Evan's 1st Birthday!!


Advertisement
Published: April 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hope everyone enjoyed their summer!

With snow covering Mammoth Mountain; fall is truly here. I had a great summer surveying the high mountain lakes of not only the Sierra Nevada, but also the Russian Wilderness and the Trinity Alps. It had been ten years since those two areas had been surveyed, so it was time to monitor the amphibian populations.

The frogs are doing very well. We counted 225 healthy adults in one of our restoration areas; Matlock Lake!

Hope everyone's summer is going well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Jeff and EvanJeff and Evan
Jeff and Evan

This is my brother-in-law and nephew at the annual summer parade, Mule Days.
Snorkel surveySnorkel survey
Snorkel survey

The Fish and Game has been transplanting tad poles into the Eastern Brooks Lakes for a few years and to do the most thorough search possible, I snorkeled around the entire lake looking for the little guys. Unfortunately, I couldn't find any...maybe next year.
Float tubeFloat tube
Float tube

Going in to pull a Gill Net used for fish surveys.
Tioga PassTioga Pass
Tioga Pass

I took my Mountain Board, which has a brake, up to the top of Tioga Pass and then carved my way down for 15 minutes with my parents in the car behind me. They were worried, but I eased a little of their worry with a full-face helmet, gloves and the brake.
Sarah and EvanSarah and Evan
Sarah and Evan

Nothing will stop my sister Sarah from getting on the trail. Not even a newborn!


Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb