I Love It


Advertisement
Published: October 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello All

WowI absolutley love AMerica!! I', so shocked, I thought I would hate it but its amazing, I'm having a wicked time!!

When did I last write, Sunday I think oh yes, Rotorua, god that seems like a lifetime away all ready! Anyway, SUnday night went to bed early, was sulking a bit I think, as the hostel didn't have a tv and was really tired! Monday, I went to Wai-O-Tapu, the Therma Wonderland! That was really cool. I got a shuttle bus that first takes you to the boiling mud pools, which are really strange, and then to the Lady Knox Geisher, which is huge! They put soap into the geisher to make it errupt at the same time everyday and its really impressive, although I can't remember how high it is! They then take you to the thermal park, which is basically loads of craters that have been formed by the different minerals escaping from beneath the crust. The colours are amazing and even though the weather was really overcast, i got some good photos!

After that, I went to the Rotorua museum which was ok, and then back home. Didn't do anything that night although I did chat to an older American guy who was a psychologist here doing lectures and he was quite interesting. Tuesday, hmm Tuesday, its coming erm oh that was it, didn't get up till a bit later and then I went and sorted out my accomodation in America for the hotel and the hostel. I;m stayin in Vegas in the Hotel Tropicana and its really tacky, I'm very excited!!! Tuesday night, me and an Irish girl in the room went to the Polynesian Spa, which is outdoor hot pools that have been heated naturally! The first pool is a mineral pool and was 38 degrees, very nice, the rest are just hot and are 39, 40 and 42 degrees! The others are completely outside and have a beautiful view over the lake. The stars started coming out and it was really really lovely, spoilt only by the few hundred seaguls chattering away and the few hundred Japenese tourists (I'm not joking!!). WHen we came to shower though I had a small shock! I must have looked unthreatening, as this older completely naked Japenese lady, decided to join me in my shower, and she had no shame in making sure every nook and cranny was clean! It was nasty! They were communal showers like in the swimming baths, but still it was very traumatising! Being British I didn't want to be rude and move away, and so I stood there, silently mortified and trying to stare straight across!! And then, after that, this Kiwi woman with fake boobs (not naked though I have to admit) took her place! I'm really not a naked person, or a sharing-showers-with-strangers kid of person, so found the whole thing disturbing!!

Wednesday I almost missed my bus to Auckland, but luckily the AMerican guy was leaving at the same time and so gave me a lift to the bus station, phew!! Got to Auckland and the hostel was ok. Met a really nice Irish girl in the room (yes another) and then headed off to the Auckland art gallery, which was quite good. Didn't see a lot though, as for a lot of the exhibitions you had to pay, and was skint! One of the pieces in the contemporary gallery was shocking though! It was a blue spa bath in a room with relaxation music over the top, and then on the wall, it had the blue dvd sign that appears when there's no dvd in the player! How shit is that?! I really was not impressed, and I reckon there's more than likely far more deserving contemporary pieces that could have taken its place!!!

Wednesday night I had hoped to see Bernard, but at about 9pm, I realised that I'd texted his Austrlian number and not the New Zealand one, doh! Silly girl!! ANyway, he came to visit me the next day anyway and it was really good to see him again. I then got the shuttle bus to the airport and almost died when my luggage came to 30.2 kg! Oops! Luckily for me, if you have two bags you're allowed 32kg, but no wonder I've had problems walking very far with my bags, that's almost half my body weight!!!

The flight over was really good, 11.5 hours but the plane was virtually empty and so I had three seats to myself, luxuary! I managed to get about five hours sleep and could lie down so all ws good! The films were also good as was the food, the only the bad thing was this one hostess who hated me! First of all she didn't bring me any ice-cream, which I didn't think anything of. She then missed me out on the tea and coffee, i had to say excuse me and ask for it, and then when it came to handing out sweets she missed me out again!! Goodness knows what I'd done to deserve that!!

Got to LA airport, and had to wait ages to go through the customs checks, well and hour but they were really disorganised! Got the shuttle to the hostel and then went exploring! I'd been on my own out of the hostel for about 2 minutes, when this big fat American man asked me for directions and then tried to pick me up, saying that English girls were more appreciative than Americans!!! What?!! Anyway, true to form I got scared and ran into a shop, then realised it was an Israeli place and didn't understand what anything was!!

Went back to the hostel and met the girls in my room; an Austrlian Rachael and two London girls, Jamie and Jodie. That night we went out and we had the best time! We went to the Viper rooms and saw a really good live hip-hop band, and then to another place called Akbar, that was called Dirty Dirty House Music! What it should have said was Dirty Dirty Gay House Music! It was still good though, although we were the only girls in there!!

Friday, I went shopping and this was my downfall! Spent far too much money on some fake bags and in the Abercrombie and Fitch store! Actually the latter would have been ok, had some things not downloaded late onto my credit card, leaving no money on it, and very little in my account! Oops!! Thankfully, mummy has been able to lend me some money until I get back, but it wont hit my account until Monday, and so I can't go out tonight!! Never mind though! The purchases were worth it, and I can't have everything! Sorry mum!

Today, Saturday, I'm going to see the Chinese theatre and some other bits and bobs. I cancelled a trip I was going to go on, as I think it will be cheaper to see stuff by myself, and the London girls are going to come to the theatre to take some photos (that's the walk of fame where all of the handprints are if you're not sure!).

Tomorrow I'll go to Venice beach and then Monday to Vegas, woohoo!!! I'm having such a good time, I just wish I had more money, and time!! Anyway, I reckon I'm coming back for a holiday, but this time with LOADS OF MONEY! The shopping here is fantastic!

Anyway, hope you're all well, love you lots, can't wait to see you all!!

xxxx

Advertisement



15th October 2006

oooohhhh
yo glad you got there safely it sounds like its wicked! youll soon weighmorethandoubleyour luggage weight with the mega food portions! x
19th October 2006

when ya home????
When are u back in the beautiful UK my lovely?? Give me a bell soon I wanna hear all the gossip xxxxxx
20th October 2006

Knew yer would
Being in America is like being in a movie, everyone's dream, melding into that big silver screen. Weird thing is Americans don't get it but they are usually super friendly and helpful and I am not at all surprised that you are having such a great time. We are also happy after a hectic exciting two weeks with friends from Canada, got back yesterday from wooden yacht sailing races in Bodrum in which we won a cup and ate, drank and talked far too much so I am frasgile today and hoarse. Keep on going. Love pat

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb